Greyhole

kjacques
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 1:00 pm

Greyhole

Postby kjacques » Sun Jun 20, 2010 2:14 pm

Amahi says that Greyhole is not running however if I ssh into the server and do a service greyhole status it reports that greyhole is running? How do I get amahi to see that so I can configure the drive pool?

Ken

xlnt
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 12:55 pm

Re: Greyhole

Postby xlnt » Thu Jun 24, 2010 1:54 pm

+1, Having the exact same problem.. Any sugestions would be just perfect.. :)

User avatar
gboudreau
Posts: 606
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 1:15 pm
Location: Montréal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Greyhole

Postby gboudreau » Sun Jun 27, 2010 5:55 am

At this time, you need to configure the Greyhole Storage Pool (Dashboard > Shares > Storage Pool) before Greyhole can run.
Without that, Greyhole itself stops every time it's started by the watchdog.
An upcoming hda-greyhole package (0.6.10) will fix that.
- Guillaume Boudreau

kjacques
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 1:00 pm

Re: Greyhole

Postby kjacques » Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:44 am

Hmmm,

I went to (Dashboard > Shares > Storage Pool) as suggested but Storage Pool is not listed as an option? Was there something I needed to customize on the amahi install to see it? Right now it looks like I have 1 partition spanning over 3 hard drives.

Thanks,

Ken

User avatar
gboudreau
Posts: 606
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 1:15 pm
Location: Montréal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Greyhole

Postby gboudreau » Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:59 am

You need to enable Advanced Settings to see the Storage Pool page.
- Guillaume Boudreau

kjacques
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 1:00 pm

Re: Greyhole

Postby kjacques » Tue Jun 29, 2010 10:10 am

I enabled advanced settings. I can now see the storage pool option. However I only get one option to check which is the following.

Pooled Location Total Space Free Space %
/ 823.1 GB 773.1 GB 94
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (3.47 KiB) Viewed 2016 times

I think when I installed it used the entire 3 drives to create one partition. Is this my issue?

Thanks,

Ken

User avatar
gboudreau
Posts: 606
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 1:15 pm
Location: Montréal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Greyhole

Postby gboudreau » Tue Jun 29, 2010 10:26 am

You're probably using LVM to pool your drives.
Indeed, Greyhole can't access the separate drives in a LVM volume.
Greyhole can use a LVM volume as part of the pool, but all drives that makes the volume are seen as only one drive by Greyhole, so it can't put redundant copies on the different drives.

But all this shouldn't affect the status of the Greyhole server as seen in the Apps > Servers page.
- Guillaume Boudreau

kjacques
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 1:00 pm

Re: Greyhole

Postby kjacques » Thu Jul 01, 2010 8:39 am

I think your right on the lvm. I guess I'm going to have to reinstall so I can free up the other 2 drives. :(

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests