Announcing: Amahi Netboot pre-release

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2603
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Announcing: Amahi Netboot pre-release

Postby cpg » Mon Aug 03, 2009 3:56 pm

Hi,

We were able to develop this integration of what used to be PXEKnife, but it's better named as Netboot, to boot multiple bootable images over the net:

Please take it for a spin:

rpm -Uvh http://files.getdropbox.com/u/364883/Am ... noarch.rpm

It should not break PBA (does not break it for me), and as a little example of what this can do, we included the famous memtest86+ memory test. See if you can run it by booting off the network after you install that RPM and report back.

If this works well, we will be able to package other things as apps that are net-bootable, such as net-images of Ubuntu and others, anti-virus, clonezilla, etc. etc.!

Thanks to bigfoot65 who's on fire, for helping first hand with this!

Carlos
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
moredruid
Expert
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:33 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Announcing: Amahi Netboot pre-release

Postby moredruid » Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:26 pm

just installed it... will check how it works in a few minutes (need to finish reading the board first :mrgreen: )
echo '16i[q]sa[ln0=aln100%Pln100/snlbx]sbA0D2173656C7572206968616D41snlbxq' | dc
Galileo - HP Proliant ML110 G6 quad core Xeon 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 2x750GB RAID1 + 2x1TB RAID1 HDD

User avatar
marcel
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 12:46 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Announcing: Amahi Netboot pre-release

Postby marcel » Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:45 pm

Found some time to test the new netboot feature. I enabled the ethernet boot rom in the bios. Restart the system and the rom is booting. Client ip, mask ip dhcp ip gateway ip are all ok. Next step TFTP, TFTP gives a error "TFTP open timeout". I'll will try this also on my notebook.
Last edited by marcel on Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My HDA cpu: E1400 2Ghz; motherboard: Gigabyte GA-G33M-S2H; memory: Team 2Gb DDR2; 200GB OS HDD, 2x western digital GP 1TB storage HDDs; case: Antec P182

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2603
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Announcing: Amahi Netboot pre-release

Postby cpg » Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:48 pm

just installed it... will check how it works in a few minutes (need to finish reading the board first :mrgreen: )
... and ... does it work? :)
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
marcel
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 12:46 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Announcing: Amahi Netboot pre-release

Postby marcel » Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:57 pm

Also tested it on my notebook. Same error as my desktop. Any idea what this might be?
My HDA cpu: E1400 2Ghz; motherboard: Gigabyte GA-G33M-S2H; memory: Team 2Gb DDR2; 200GB OS HDD, 2x western digital GP 1TB storage HDDs; case: Antec P182

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2603
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Announcing: Amahi Netboot pre-release

Postby cpg » Sun Aug 09, 2009 1:24 pm

thanks for testing this marcel.

can you check for any error messages in /var/log/messages ?
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
marcel
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 12:46 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Announcing: Amahi Netboot pre-release

Postby marcel » Sun Aug 09, 2009 2:32 pm

can you check for any error messages in /var/log/messages
can't find any strange things...
My HDA cpu: E1400 2Ghz; motherboard: Gigabyte GA-G33M-S2H; memory: Team 2Gb DDR2; 200GB OS HDD, 2x western digital GP 1TB storage HDDs; case: Antec P182

bsk
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 7:18 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Re: Announcing: Amahi Netboot pre-release

Postby bsk » Sun Aug 09, 2009 2:46 pm

Post the output of:

Code: Select all

cat /var/log/messages
to http://paste.amahi.org and give us a link to the post here.
Having problems with connecting to the internet? Try the Network Troubleshooter.

Not sure what your Gateway IP? Head on over to the Find Your Gateway IP page to find out easily.

Image

GGD
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 5:51 pm

Re: Announcing: Amahi Netboot pre-release

Postby GGD » Sun Aug 09, 2009 7:32 pm

Marcel

Did you get this error before or after the "upgrade" to 4.0?

GGD

User avatar
moredruid
Expert
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:33 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Announcing: Amahi Netboot pre-release

Postby moredruid » Sun Aug 09, 2009 10:54 pm

ah yes, forgot to post...

boots fine on my desktop box. I've run the memtest and the PBA (both backup & restore) and everything works as it should.
echo '16i[q]sa[ln0=aln100%Pln100/snlbx]sbA0D2173656C7572206968616D41snlbxq' | dc
Galileo - HP Proliant ML110 G6 quad core Xeon 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 2x750GB RAID1 + 2x1TB RAID1 HDD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest