I'm testing CentOS+Amahi. Come help make it work!

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

I'm testing CentOS+Amahi. Come help make it work!

Postby sgtfoo » Fri Oct 12, 2012 5:28 pm

OK so I'm diving into trying to get CentOS 6.3 to run amahi.. maily because I'm preferring the longer lifespan of the OS as opposed to Ubuntu and Fedora being overhauled so often.
I'm pretty familiar with CLI, computers, servers, networking, etc, but I'm no developer.

Perhaps some guidance from the community while I hammer at the work?

I started with
http://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Centos_6
on an install of centos6.3
results here..
http://pastebin.com/h017B5Ug

I don't know where to begin, but just let me know what needs to be added, removed, rpm'd, yum'd, copied, edited, etc.
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

apastor
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:58 am

Re: I'm testing CentOS+Amahi. Come help make it work!

Postby apastor » Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:44 pm

I wonder if you tried CentOS 5.x instead, if that would work better.

Being HDA 6.1 for this OS was designed for Fedora 14. Im guessing CentOS 5.x would be closer setup to Fedora 14 then CentOS 6.x

Give that a shot.

EDIT:
I just noticed the wiki, and its for CentOS 6. But I am curious how it would work with CentOS 5, if it would.
Proxmox Server: Currently Not Running Amahi
CPU: AMD FX 6100 Six Core
RAM: 8GB DDR3
HDD: 4x1TB RAID10 (Adaptec)

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: I'm testing CentOS+Amahi. Come help make it work!

Postby sgtfoo » Sat Oct 13, 2012 8:20 am

fair point, and understood, but I'm trying to go with the closest to long-term stable. CentOS6 is akin to the latest stable RHEL and has a wonderful lifespan up to 2020...
http://wiki.centos.org/About/Product

And the RHEL virtualization libraries in the stock install are quite awesome to use. Having a an Amahi machine as the DHCP/DNS/upper-level file server for a network, as well as the hypervisor for the VMs that I need would be a great and reliable way to keep my computer mess all virtually inside a single box.
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

stern88
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:03 am

Re: I'm testing CentOS+Amahi. Come help make it work!

Postby stern88 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:24 am

U can try to grap the Ruby-Source from SVN and compile it. Mybe that will help? On this way it will install Ruby in /usr/local/bin. Symlink it to /usr/bin/ruby.

Make sure u have the latest gcc and gmake. In case _NOT_ grab gcc and GNU Make from source and build em. Dont forget to symlink like here:

Code: Select all

lrwxr-xr-x 1 root wheel 18 Sep 25 20:19 /usr/bin/gcc -> /usr/local/bin/gcc
Use at least gcc4.6

Code: Select all

[root@jail ~]# gcc --version gcc (GCC) 4.8.0 20120915 (experimental) Copyright (C) 2012 Free Software Foundation, Inc. This is free software; see the source for copying conditions. There is NO warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
Call directly your newest gmake and assembler.

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: I'm testing CentOS+Amahi. Come help make it work!

Postby sgtfoo » Tue Oct 16, 2012 7:10 am

hmm having a mess of issues with compiling.

why gcc 4.6+?

stern88
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:03 am

Re: I'm testing CentOS+Amahi. Come help make it work!

Postby stern88 » Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:00 pm

hmm having a mess of issues with compiling.
Hmm... Ok, can u post the messages?
why gcc 4.6+?
1. Thats the gcc-Version with that I had at least problems compiling from source.
2. At next it is a good idea to use that gcc-Version recommended by the author.
3. As far as I know CentOS-packages are not the latest

However here is the README:
https://github.com/ruby/ruby/blob/trunk/README

There is no recommendation for a specific gcc-version. So just try to compile ruby from source. Dont forget: installing ruby from source has some risks.

http://collectiveidea.com/blog/archives ... on-centos/

Befor you start compiling steal the ruby-package from fedora and try to install it. Maybe it works...

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: I'm testing CentOS+Amahi. Come help make it work!

Postby sgtfoo » Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:16 pm

it's a 6.3 version of Centos in a VM, and I had originally removed a number of packages.
I don't remember removing any dev packages, but I'm getting "unable to find a suitable compiler".
Do I need to configure my compiler? (told you I was new at this) ;)

stern88
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:03 am

Re: I'm testing CentOS+Amahi. Come help make it work!

Postby stern88 » Fri Oct 19, 2012 1:59 pm

it's a 6.3 version of Centos in a VM, and I had originally removed a number of packages.
I don't remember removing any dev packages, but I'm getting "unable to find a suitable compiler".
Do I need to configure my compiler? (told you I was new at this) ;)
Hey! No problem lets do it step-by-step:
After you installed CentOS do:

Code: Select all

yum update
First you need the "Development Tools" group:

Code: Select all

yum groupinstall 'Development Tools'
Than shutdown your virtual machine and save the status. Btw:
I myself install like you CentOS in a VM. I briged the network, so I can ssh from my OS (Ubuntu 12.04) into CentOS. Its more comfortable than switching workspaces.
At next configure the EPEL repository:

Code: Select all

rpm -Uvh http://ftp-stud.hs-esslingen.de/pub/epel/6/x86_64/epel-release-6-7.noarch.rpm
Configure the development Amahi repository:

Code: Select all

vi /etc/yum.repos.d/amahi.repo
and paste:

Code: Select all

[amahi] name=Amahi Centos6 Repo baseurl=http://repos.mornati.net/amahi-centos6/RPMS failovermethod=priority enabled=1 gpgcheck=0
Now start installing ruby-1.8.7.299:

Code: Select all

yum install compat-readline5 yum install openssl098e-0.9.8e yum install compat-libtermcap yum install compat-db43 rpm -Uvh http://centos.karan.org/el5/ruby187/x86_64/ruby-libs-1.8.7.299-4.el5.kb.x86_64.rpm rpm -Uvh http://centos.karan.org/el5/ruby187/x86_64/ruby-docs-1.8.7.299-4.el5.kb.x86_64.rpm rpm -Uvh http://centos.karan.org/el5/ruby187/x86_64/ruby-irb-1.8.7.299-4.el5.kb.x86_64.rpm rpm -Uvh http://centos.karan.org/el5/ruby187/x86_64/ruby-rdoc-1.8.7.299-4.el5.kb.x86_64.rpm rpm -Uvh http://centos.karan.org/el5/ruby187/x86_64/ruby-devel-1.8.7.299-4.el5.kb.x86_64.rpm rpm -Uvh http://centos.karan.org/el5/ruby187/x86_64/ruby-static-1.8.7.299-4.el5.kb.x86_64.rpm rpm -Uvh http://centos.karan.org/el5/ruby187/x86_64/ruby-debuginfo-1.8.7.299-4.el5.kb.x86_64.rpm rpm -Uvh http://centos.karan.org/el5/ruby187/x86_64/rubygems-1.3.7-3.el5.kb.1.noarch.rpm
Done so far. Now you need some gems:

Code: Select all

gem install rails --no-ri --no-rdoc gem install hoe --no-ri --no-rdoc gem install gd2 --no-ri --no-rdoc gem install rake --no-ri --no-rdoc
Some more gems:

Code: Select all

rpm -Uvh http://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/epel/6/x86_64/rubygem-json-1.4.6-1.el6.x86_64.rpm rpm -Uvh http://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/epel/5/i386/rubygem-gemcutter-0.3.0-3.el5.noarch.rpm rpm -Uvh http://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/epel/6/i386/rubygem-minitest-1.6.0-2.el6.noarch.rpm rpm -Uvh http://mirror.centos.org/centos/6/os/i386/Packages/rubygem-rake-0.8.7-2.1.el6.noarch.rpm rpm -Uvh http://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/epel/6/i386/rubygem-json_pure-1.6.3-2.el6.noarch.rpm rpm -Uvh http://apt.sw.be/redhat/el6/en/i386/rpmforge/RPMS/rubygem-rubyforge-2.0.4-1.el6.rf.noarch.rpm rpm -Uvh http://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/epel/5/i386/rubygem-hoe-2.5.0-2.el5.noarch.rpm
Well... There is one more dependency. Now it gets very, very dirty!
Use ssh to log in a full running F14 Amahi box:

Code: Select all

yum -y install yum-utils yumdownloader --destdir=/root/ rubygem-gd2
Transfer the file rubygem-gd2-1.1.1-1.fc12.noarch.rpm into your CentOS-box using scp and install it.
Repeat this steps for the package "hda-greyhole-0.9.2-1.x86_64.rpm"
For example I use this command to transfer a file from my home into my CentOS-box:

Code: Select all

scp hda-greyhole-0.9.2-1.x86_64.rpm administrator@172.31.1.150:/home/administrator/
Get back into your CentOS:

Code: Select all

[root@CentOS63AMD64 ~]# rpm -ivh hda-greyhole-0.9.2-1.x86_64.rpm Fehler: Fehlgeschlagende Abhängigkeiten: /usr/bin/php wird benötigt von hda-greyhole-0.9.2-1.x86_64 mysql-server wird benötigt von hda-greyhole-0.9.2-1.x86_64 php >= 5 wird benötigt von hda-greyhole-0.9.2-1.x86_64 php-mbstring wird benötigt von hda-greyhole-0.9.2-1.x86_64 php-mysql wird benötigt von hda-greyhole-0.9.2-1.x86_64 samba >= 3.4.3 wird benötigt von hda-greyhole-0.9.2-1.x86_64
Save your current status!

Code: Select all

yum install mysql-server php php-mysql php-mbstring samba
And hda-greyhole:

Code: Select all

[root@CentOS63AMD64 ~]# rpm -ivh hda-greyhole-0.9.2-1.x86_64.rpm Vorbereiten... ########################################### [100%] 1:hda-greyhole ########################################### [100%] [root@CentOS63AMD64 ~]#
Finanlly:

Code: Select all

[root@CentOS63AMD64 ~]# yum install hda-platform
A nice list of software to install:

Code: Select all

Dependencies Resolved ========================================================================================================================================================================= Package Arch Version Repository Size ========================================================================================================================================================================= Installing: hda-platform noarch 6.1.5-1 amahi 1.2 M Installing for dependencies: ImageMagick x86_64 6.5.4.7-6.el6_2 base 1.7 M augeas-libs x86_64 0.9.0-4.el6 base 317 k bind x86_64 32:9.8.2-0.10.rc1.el6_3.5 updates 4.0 M cadaver x86_64 0.23.3-2.el6 amahi 170 k dhcp x86_64 12:4.1.1-31.0.1.P1.el6.centos.1 updates 818 k eruby x86_64 1.0.5-16.el6 amahi 37 k eruby-libs x86_64 1.0.5-16.el6 amahi 37 k fpaste noarch 0.3.5-1.el6 epel 28 k hdactl x86_64 4.1.4-1 amahi 173 k hddtemp x86_64 0.3-0.20.beta15.el6 epel 46 k libev x86_64 4.03-3.el6 epel 113 k libwmf-lite x86_64 0.2.8.4-22.el6.centos base 51 k lzo x86_64 2.03-3.1.el6 base 55 k mod_passenger x86_64 1:3.0.9-1.el6 amahi 1.5 M monit x86_64 5.1.1-4.el6 epel 236 k openvpn x86_64 2.2.2-1.el6 epel 372 k perl-Authen-PAM x86_64 0.16-8.el6 epel 34 k pkcs11-helper x86_64 1.07-5.el6 epel 51 k ruby-RMagick x86_64 2.13.1-6.el6.1 epel 170 k ruby-augeas x86_64 0.4.1-1.el6 epel 21 k ruby-bdb x86_64 0.6.5-4.el6 amahi 359 k ruby-mysql x86_64 2.8.2-1.el6 epel 45 k ruby-racc noarch 1.4.5-6.el6 amahi 71 k rubygem-actionmailer noarch 1:2.3.8-1.el6 amahi 1.1 M rubygem-actionpack noarch 1:2.3.8-2.el6 amahi 2.2 M rubygem-activerecord noarch 1:2.3.8-4.el6 amahi 2.4 M rubygem-activeresource noarch 1:2.3.8-1.el6 amahi 995 k rubygem-activesupport noarch 1:2.3.8-2.el6 epel 1.7 M rubygem-daemon_controller noarch 0.2.6-1.el6 epel 39 k rubygem-fastthread x86_64 1.0.7-2.el6 epel 59 k rubygem-gruff noarch 0.3.6-2.el6 amahi 693 k rubygem-passenger x86_64 1:3.0.9-1.el6 amahi 5.0 M rubygem-passenger-native x86_64 1:3.0.9-1.el6 amahi 697 k rubygem-passenger-native-libs x86_64 1:3.0.9-1.el6_1.8.7.299 amahi 41 k rubygem-rack noarch 1:1.1.0-2.el6 epel 446 k rubygem-rails noarch 1:2.3.8-1.el6 amahi 2.4 M wol x86_64 0.7.1-4.el6 epel 40 k Transaction Summary ========================================================================================================================================================================= Install 38 Package(s) Total download size: 29 M Installed size: 91 M Is this ok [y/N]:
conclusion:
On this way you get a nice mixture of Fedora and CentOS packages of different versions. Maybe something will work...

Good luck!

stern88
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:03 am

Re: I'm testing CentOS+Amahi. Come help make it work!

Postby stern88 » Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:15 pm

rofl:

Code: Select all

[root@CentOS63AMD64 ~]# hda-install ***any*code*** Verbose log file at '/root/hda-install-121019-231012.log'. Retrieving install code ... Install code looks good Stopping background software updates ... Background software updates stopped WARNING: rpm uninstall failed ... please run rpm -e setroubleshoot setroubleshoot-server setroubleshoot-plugins by hand until it uninstalls correctly Installing 3 packages ... RPM packages installed Starting MySQL Initializing MySQL Initializing Storage Pooling ... Installing pluginfactory ... Initializing Ruby on Rails and DB Activating your HDA's settings Initializing settings Setting up watchdog monitor Starting SAMBA server ... Starting VPN server ... Starting HTTP server ... Setting the network services ... Starting the rest of the services ... Disabling SELinux. Disabling firewall. Configuring your network (eth0). Congratulations! Your Amahi HDA is set up! **** IMPORTANT **** IMPORTANT ***** IMPORTANT **** IMPORTANT **** Reboot your HDA, *make sure* it can see the internet and *only then* (optionally) you may turn off your router's DHCP server. See the FAQ for the tradeoffs of using your DHCP server. http://tinyurl.com/amahi-dhcp **** IMPORTANT **** IMPORTANT ***** IMPORTANT **** IMPORTANT **** When your HDA reboots, reboot the machines in your network, or "repair" their network interface, for them to see the HDA. And You Are Ready To Go! http://hda Your dashboard http://setup Your setup pages, including storage, applications, etc. The system needs to reboot for your settings to take effect. Would you like to reboot now? (strongly recommended)? (yes/no)?
Lets see the result...

stern88
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:03 am

Re: I'm testing CentOS+Amahi. Come help make it work!

Postby stern88 » Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:35 pm

----FEEDBACK----

Having currently some problems. From /root/hda-install-121019-231012.log:

Code: Select all

Installer automatically determined that your router/gateway IP address is: 172.31.1.1, over eth0
No, thats NOT correct! gateway IP address is 172.31.1.2 and my router address is 172.31.1.1 :(

Code: Select all

If this is incorrect, please report it, then run hda-change-gw after installation is finished to set your gateway settings to the proper IP.
Not today.

Good night!
stern

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests