Amahi 6 Beta, for your testing pleasure!

dinomic
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 6:49 am

Re: Amahi 6 Beta, for your testing pleasure!

Postby dinomic » Sat Feb 12, 2011 1:48 pm

I now can't find a way to add the Amahi repo once F14 is fully installed and running. Anyone got any advice on how to proceed, please?
http://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Self-install-existing
CPG, you are the man!

That helped install Amahi, but after the required reboot following the install:
1) DHCPD service seemed to fail to start (I *seem* to have started it though, manually?)
2) I have NO network connection!! I can't ping anything on the network, and other devices can't ping it either. Could this be because of issues with Fedora needing to use the first network device (can't remember where I read that!).

Basically, I eth0 seems to be the on-board ethernet board (which is broken!) and I'm using a PCI ethercard card (eth1). This is probably why I had a problem adding the repo from the start.
Norco 4220 Case
Gigabyte GA-G33-DS3R Motherboard w/ 8GB RAM
LSI SAS2116PCIe 6GB/s SAS (replaced 3Ware 9690SA-4I & Chenbro CK1360)
1 x Hitachi 160Gb2.5" System Drive (original 1 x OCZ 60GB Vertex 2 SATAII 2.5" SSD died)
8 x 4TB Hitachi Deskstars
6 x 3TB Hitachi Deskstars
6 x 2TB Hitachi Deskstars (1 dead!)

dinomic
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 6:49 am

Re: Amahi 6 Beta, for your testing pleasure!

Postby dinomic » Sat Feb 12, 2011 1:59 pm

Scrub that last cry for help - I think I've managed to sort out the networking issue.

Somehow eth0 was enabled, but not eth1, so I removed eth0 and recreated eth1 under "System -
Administration - Networking").

Anyway, upward and onward... :)

Thanks again, CPG!
Norco 4220 Case
Gigabyte GA-G33-DS3R Motherboard w/ 8GB RAM
LSI SAS2116PCIe 6GB/s SAS (replaced 3Ware 9690SA-4I & Chenbro CK1360)
1 x Hitachi 160Gb2.5" System Drive (original 1 x OCZ 60GB Vertex 2 SATAII 2.5" SSD died)
8 x 4TB Hitachi Deskstars
6 x 3TB Hitachi Deskstars
6 x 2TB Hitachi Deskstars (1 dead!)

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Amahi 6 Beta, for your testing pleasure!

Postby cpg » Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:07 pm

You can come to the community channel - real-time expert help there.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

dinomic
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 6:49 am

Re: Amahi 6 Beta, for your testing pleasure!

Postby dinomic » Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:12 pm

You can come to the community channel - real-time expert help there.
CPG, I've been *trying* to, but can't seem to get IRC working. I downloaded the XChat client, but it's missing a Perl library as a dependency, and I've not managed to get it all working yet. :(
Norco 4220 Case
Gigabyte GA-G33-DS3R Motherboard w/ 8GB RAM
LSI SAS2116PCIe 6GB/s SAS (replaced 3Ware 9690SA-4I & Chenbro CK1360)
1 x Hitachi 160Gb2.5" System Drive (original 1 x OCZ 60GB Vertex 2 SATAII 2.5" SSD died)
8 x 4TB Hitachi Deskstars
6 x 3TB Hitachi Deskstars
6 x 2TB Hitachi Deskstars (1 dead!)

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Amahi 6 Beta, for your testing pleasure!

Postby cpg » Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:30 pm

Using eth1 is not officially supported.

Alternatively you can change it by editing /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules

You can use the web interface for IRC. Several people there use xchat and may be able to help set it up.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Amahi 6 Beta, for your testing pleasure!

Postby cpg » Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:49 am

We just updated the f14 beta repo with hda-platform-5.6.59-1, containing a lot of smaller fixes.

See the bug tracker activity for details ... lots of progress today!

Test test test! make new users and shares (with international characters), new shares, add them and remove them to the pool,... test, test test!!
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Amahi 6 Beta, for your testing pleasure!

Postby cpg » Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:40 am

Hello!

We have a new pre-release that requires very technical testing!

Basically, this package should fix bug 611:

Code: Select all

http://alpha.amahi.org/tmp/hda-platform-5.6.60-1.noarch.rpm
too hard to explain how to test in detail ... but basically, try to add a partition that is not a mount point.

- visit with web interface to add to the pool, then
- behind the scenes *unmount* the partition you are about to add to the pool
- add the partition to the pool through the previously opened web interface

it should not:
- barf
- add the partition to the pool
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

sfajeff
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 12:46 am

Re: Amahi 6 Beta, for your testing pleasure!

Postby sfajeff » Wed Feb 16, 2011 12:50 am

First off I am installing on Hyper-v R2.

Installs successfully, asks me for username + password.

Try to run installer and says can't connect.

Reboot and hangs on "Starting amahi-installer" during startup.

Not sure what to do here.

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Amahi 6 Beta, for your testing pleasure!

Postby cpg » Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:22 am

Is there network?

The installer requires (sadly) the installation of a gem from the internet.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

sfajeff
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 12:46 am

Re: Amahi 6 Beta, for your testing pleasure!

Postby sfajeff » Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:03 pm

Is there network?

The installer requires (sadly) the installation of a gem from the internet.
Kind of.. Turns out that F14 has a problem with Hyper-v. I had to disable irqbalance (chkconfig irqbalance off) and then reboot before the network would work. I then installed Amahi using the manual install instructions: http://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Self-install-existing

Just rebooted and seems all is well for now...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest