Introducing: Amahi 5.3 Express CD!

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2604
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Introducing: Amahi 5.3 Express CD!

Postby cpg » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:11 pm

[UPDATE: Changed the download location. It's in the wiki now!]
[UPDATE: Also, the 64-bit version is now out! Test and report!]
[UPDATE: version 2.5 is out! The link is up to date. See slm's notes for the fixes it has]
Hi,

Through a lot of work from Solomon (aka slm4996), we would like to introduce the ...

Express CD Download

After you download, you may want to ensure the checksum signatures match.

It will simplify Amahi installation in headless environments. Only a few things to input and Amahi is installed!

Important notes for testing!
  • It will destroy all data in the first drive it finds, automatically. Should be fairly obvious from the menu options
  • It requires are reboot after the first reboot + Amahi configuration, but the program does not say it
  • Second option for advanced setup/advanced users, not well tested (please report)
Please test it out and see how it works for you!

If it works well, we can offer this configuration in the future!

Please thank Solomon for the hard work in putting this together!
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

mitch
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 7:19 pm

Re: Introducing: Amahi 5.3 Express CD!

Postby mitch » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:37 pm

In the advanced mode, it keeps telling me invalid code. I tried recreating an HDA and tried the new code but same result. I'm using VMWare Workstation so I'm not sure if this is the reason but I installed a prerelease of this CD

slm4996
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 9:46 pm
Location: indiana

Re: Introducing: Amahi 5.3 Express CD!

Postby slm4996 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:39 pm

In the advanced mode, it keeps telling me invalid code. I tried recreating an HDA and tried the new code but same result. I'm using VMWare Workstation so I'm not sure if this is the reason but I installed a prerelease of this CD
Does it accept your code on the same VM if you use the simple install?

slm4996
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 9:46 pm
Location: indiana

Re: Introducing: Amahi 5.3 Express CD!

Postby slm4996 » Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:43 am

Ok, I figured out the advanced install issue. The prompt happens before the network is configured. the next release will correct this.

For now to do an advanced install you should be able to append the command ip=dhcp to the boot string

slm4996
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 9:46 pm
Location: indiana

Beta 3.5 is out

Postby slm4996 » Sat Jun 05, 2010 12:40 am

Beta 2.5 is out!

This fixes the Expert install bug and also improves on the configuration prompts.

mitch
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 7:19 pm

Re: Introducing: Amahi 5.3 Express CD!

Postby mitch » Sat Jun 05, 2010 2:52 pm

My issue was fixed and thanks for adding the expert option. It was necessary for my needs! Go Twitter!

jiml
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:13 am

Re: Introducing: Amahi 5.3 Express CD!

Postby jiml » Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:48 am

Have tried to install a couple of times but had varying issues which are probably down to burn. Adding in a media check option would help me there. Exprert mode is a definitive requirement for me as I will be reusing my /var/hda files which are on a seperate disk/partition. I am am sure errors are due to the fact that my router is resetting itself ad adnauseum (am trying to get ISP to send new modem but it's an uphill struggle)

I am looking to use this headless install ASAP so will help in the testing process, although I will be waiting for the 64bit version for my install.

Jim!

Ubuntu 12.04 (64bit)

Lincee
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 3:34 pm
Location: Arnhem, NL
Contact:

Re: Introducing: Amahi 5.3 Express CD!

Postby Lincee » Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:02 am

i am trying to make it work with a bootable USB Disk.. i will let you know how it goes
LANTEA: Amahi 7 (vm), HP Proliant Microserver, 8GB RAM, 2x 1TB HDD, 1GB eth

User avatar
moredruid
Expert
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:33 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Introducing: Amahi 5.3 Express CD!

Postby moredruid » Sun Jun 06, 2010 12:53 pm

cpg,

could you post the md5 sum of the iso?
or does it do it's own checking?
echo '16i[q]sa[ln0=aln100%Pln100/snlbx]sbA0D2173656C7572206968616D41snlbxq' | dc
Galileo - HP Proliant ML110 G6 quad core Xeon 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 2x750GB RAID1 + 2x1TB RAID1 HDD

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2604
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Introducing: Amahi 5.3 Express CD!

Postby cpg » Sun Jun 06, 2010 1:07 pm

Code: Select all

md5: 33fac18f5859ef5863c6f72f3dc38f0d Amahi-5.3-Express-2.5-Beta-i386.iso sha1: b526d13aea6575e2221868ae05fbfbe7048b946b Amahi-5.3-Express-2.5-Beta-i386.iso
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest