Missing Webapp button Amahi 7

lancaster71
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:44 am

Missing Webapp button Amahi 7

Postby lancaster71 » Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:00 am

Hello, I am trying to make a new webapp and cant find it under the apps tab. I have advanced settings enabled and it doesn't seem to make a difference.

settings.PNG
settings.PNG (20.08 KiB) Viewed 1559 times
apps.PNG
apps.PNG (66.12 KiB) Viewed 1559 times

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11441
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Missing Webapp button Amahi 7

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:03 pm

Known issue.
https://bugs.amahi.org/issues/1070

It's on the list to be worked, but no estimate yet as to when it will be released. Possibly in Amahi 7.2 but no guarantee.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

lancaster71
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:44 am

Re: Missing Webapp button Amahi 7

Postby lancaster71 » Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:10 pm

Ah okay, thanks. I just want to host a website, any other way to do thiswith amahi?

[ Post made via Android ] Image

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11441
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Missing Webapp button Amahi 7

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:34 pm

It could be done manually. We have not documented the steps yet.

If all you want it to host a web site, Amahi may be a bit of an overkill. There are tutorials at http://www.howtoforge.netthat will guide you through building a basic web server.

We will try to get something documented in the wiki soon as a workaround.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

lancaster71
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:44 am

Re: Missing Webapp button Amahi 7

Postby lancaster71 » Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:20 pm

Okay cool. But I do use amahi for other stuff. Would the webserver done manually interfere with the app I am hosting, or vice versa?

[ Post made via Android ] Image

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11441
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Missing Webapp button Amahi 7

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:37 pm

The web server would have to be a different machine or VM. Amahi has a built in web server, which is why you need the feature that is present in Amahi 6.

It is possible to do manually, but like I said it's a bit of work. We don't have it documented yet, but when we do it should be easy to follow.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

lancaster71
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:44 am

Re: Missing Webapp button Amahi 7

Postby lancaster71 » Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:00 pm

Alrighty, thanks again for your help.

[ Post made via Android ] Image

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11441
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Missing Webapp button Amahi 7

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:24 am

Looks like I have a work around for this feature. It will require all command line input, but does work. I am in the process of putting it in the wiki.

Once it's complete, I will post the URL.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11441
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Missing Webapp button Amahi 7

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:06 pm

Here you go. First draft in the wiki.
https://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Amahi_ ... al_Web_App
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
radioz
Posts: 406
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:07 pm

Re: Missing Webapp button Amahi 7

Postby radioz » Mon Nov 18, 2013 1:55 pm

Hey Bigfoot65:

Just a minor corrections for part of your instructions on the wiki.

Where you setup the directories, I think the instructions can be simplified a little from this:

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /var/hda/web-apps/appname mkdir -p /var/hda/web-apps/appname/html mkdir -p /var/hda/web-apps/appname/logs chown -R apache:users /var/hda/web-apps/appname chown -R apache:users /var/hda/web-apps/appname/html touch /var/hda/web-apps/appname/logs/access_log touch /var/hda/web-apps/appname/logs/error_log chown -R /var/hda/web-apps/appname/logs/access_log chown -R /var/hda/web-apps/appname/logs/error_log​
To this:

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /var/hda/web-apps/appname/html mkdir -p /var/hda/web-apps/appname/logs chown -R apache:users /var/hda/web-apps/appname touch /var/hda/web-apps/appname/logs/access_log touch /var/hda/web-apps/appname/logs/error_log chown apache:users /var/hda/web-apps/appname/logs/access_log chown apache:users /var/hda/web-apps/appname/logs/error_log​
Thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests