How to install a Newznab server on a Amahi machine?

Taab
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 1:48 pm

How to install a Newznab server on a Amahi machine?

Postby Taab » Thu Dec 27, 2012 6:08 pm

Hey There,

I was wondering if anyone managed to successfully install a newznab(+) server on a Amahi machine? And how did you do so?

So far I have had no luck and google unfortunately doesn't seem to offer me any solution.... :oops:

edit: I already tried to use the howto for ubuntu, but that doesn't work for amahi/fedora.

Taab
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 1:48 pm

Re: How to install a Newznab server on a Amahi machine?

Postby Taab » Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:54 am

Woehoe!

After a few hours and lots of reading and trying out I finally have newznab running on Amahi!

Here is how I have done it based on the information provided earlier by laptopfreek0 (http://bugs.amahi.org/issues/991):

1. Change settings in php.ini
-

Code: Select all

nano /etc/php.ini
- Make changes to match the following:

Code: Select all

memory_limit = -1 max_execution_time = 120 date.timezone = Europe/London
2. Create a new web-app:
- hda.yourhda.com, then go to: setup -> applications -> webapplications
- Add a new web app by the name: newznab.

You have created a new web-app called: newznab. Now you need to change the root directory where your server can find the landingspage for newznab.

3. Change root directory
- SSH into your HDA.
- in my case: nano /etc/httpd/conf.d/1010-newznab.conf , and change the original to make sure it looks like this:

Code: Select all

<VirtualHost *:80> ServerName newznab ServerAlias newznab.amahi.com DocumentRoot /var/hda/web-apps/newznab/www <Directory "/var/hda/web-apps/newznab/www"> Options Indexes FollowSymLinks +ExecCGI AddHandler fcgid-script .fcg AllowOverride All Order allow,deny Allow from all </Directory> ErrorLog /var/hda/web-apps/newznab/logs/error_log CustomLog /var/hda/web-apps/newznab/logs/access_log combined env=!dontlog </VirtualHost>
4. Now you can properly install Newznab (http://www.newznab.com
- Download a copy of Newznab http://www.newznab.com/download.html
- Extract the zip file and put it in: /var/hda/web-apps/newznab/, the most easy way to do this is by making the directory a samba share.

5. At last to sort out some permission issues run the following:

Code: Select all

sudo chmod 777 /var/www/newznab/www/lib/smarty/templates_c sudo chmod 777 /var/www/newznab/www/covers/movies sudo chmod 777 /var/www/newznab/www/covers/music sudo chmod 777 /var/www/newznab/www sudo chmod 777 /var/www/newznab/www/install sudo chmod 777 /var/www/newznab/nzbfiles/
And finally restart httpd:

Code: Select all

service httpd restart
Now Newznab should be ready to be configured on : http://newznab.yourhda.com.

This how to gives an good example how you can configure newznab http://www.howtogeek.com/120285/how-to- ... t-indexer/.

This information is necessary for the configuration of newznab on an Amahi machine:
Username and password for amahi's mysql database:

Code: Select all

Username: root Password: hda Database: demo_development
Good luck!

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11465
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: How to install a Newznab server on a Amahi machine?

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:02 am

Could you add this guidance to the wiki? It will better serve users there than in the forums. We would greatly appreciate it.

Also modifying php.ini is risky and could break other apps.

Recommend you add the PHP configuration changes to the web-app .conf file right after the server line entries. The format is as follows:

Code: Select all

<Files *.php> php_flag short_open_tag on php_flag magic_quotes_gpc Off php_flag magic_quotes_sybase Off php_flag magic_quotes_runtime Off php_flag register_globals Off php_flag session.auto_start Off php_flag suhosin.session.encrypt Off php_value upload_max_filesize 20M php_value post_max_size 100M php_value max_execution_time 300 php_value zend.enable_gc off </Files>
These are some of the more common ones used. This will ensure the settings only apply when that app is accessed and not affect others.

Looks like there is an Amahi one-click app already. It may need updating since its in ALPHA status.

http://www.amahi.org/apps/newznab

If you would like to assist, please PM me your user ID.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

achmetinternet
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:02 am

Re: How to install a Newznab server on a Amahi machine?

Postby achmetinternet » Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:04 am

Any progress on this?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11465
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: How to install a Newznab server on a Amahi machine?

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:21 am

It's on the list, but no estimate on when we will get to it. Once the app is ready for testing, we will announce.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

achmetinternet
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:02 am

Re: How to install a Newznab server on a Amahi machine?

Postby achmetinternet » Thu Nov 07, 2013 4:13 pm

Do I need to still add these lines to the conf file instead of changing the php.ini? Or is this also done by the one-click-app?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11465
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: How to install a Newznab server on a Amahi machine?

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Nov 07, 2013 4:33 pm

I would recommend you add the lines to the .conf file and not mess with php.ini. It can cause issues with other apps.

As for the one-click app, not done. It's a low priority on the list, so may be a while unless someone else wants to work it. We just don't have the resources currently available. We are still working existing apps for Amahai 7, plus Greyhole UI.

EDIT: One more note. If anyone would be willing to add this to the wiki, we would greatly appreciate it. The forums is not our primary location of tutorials.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

achmetinternet
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:02 am

Re: How to install a Newznab server on a Amahi machine?

Postby achmetinternet » Fri Nov 08, 2013 2:28 am

I will do this but now I cannot install it via the dashboard, just like I couldn't install Couchpotato (see bug #1145).

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11465
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: How to install a Newznab server on a Amahi machine?

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:47 am

Can you please elaborate? I tested CouchPotato yesterday and works fine for me. There may be something amiss with your HDA.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

achmetinternet
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:02 am

Re: How to install a Newznab server on a Amahi machine?

Postby achmetinternet » Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:29 am

I posted the two URL from the apaste commands in the bug report and don't see what could be amiss here...which logfile should I look at?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests