Transmission

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Transmission

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 4:55 am

Ok, the Express CD may be the problem. We have never been able to figure it out, but sometimes certain apps do not work well with the Express CD. Partially due to the admin:admin user I believe.

I will take a look at the app and see if there is anything that can be adjusted. I would think the packages you added for SABnzbd should not have any affect on Transmission.

One other possibility to try is uninstall the app, then from CLI as root ensure all the pieces are removed.

Code: Select all

yum erase transmission-daemon

Code: Select all

yum erase amahi-transmission
Then reboot and try a reinstall. What may be happening is the uninstall may leave pieces behind that is causing the issues. Also if possible, creating a new admin user and removing admin would help as well.

Not 100% sure it will resolve the problems, but I think it may.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

milo7
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Transmission

Postby milo7 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:56 am

When you install the app, it installs the daemon which typically installs anything it needs, to include the transmission app.
But will I still be able to configure it with the remote gui, as mentioned in the link? What is more recommendable, to install it as amahi app or as ubuntu? Or is it the same?

Thanks :?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Transmission

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:43 am

If you are using Ubuntu or Fedora, install it as an app.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Transmission

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Aug 01, 2012 5:03 am

It should have been installed. These steps should indicate all the pieces were removed on uninstall.

If you have it installed and this is the result, then we do have a problem. I am going to look at this app and modify the script potentially today. I will post back here once complete.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Transmission

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Aug 01, 2012 7:53 pm

Ok, I just tested on Fedora and Ubuntu both and all worked fine for me. There is something going on that I cannot reproduce.

If you could check logs and provide any other details that might help us track down the issue, it would be appreciated.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

wobbly
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 12:21 am

Re: Transmission

Postby wobbly » Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:53 pm

have you tested on both 32-64 bit ?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Transmission

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:19 pm

Yes, in both Fedora and Ubuntu.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Transmission

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Aug 03, 2012 5:13 am

I will have to check into it. The installer is not broken, that is the server feature that is not working. I presume this is Fedora as we are not using that feature in Ubuntu.

It prevents you from being able to restart Transmission from the dashboard. Can you check to see if you can restart it from CLI? Also please look in /etc/init.d for any transmission scripts.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Transmission

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Aug 04, 2012 5:07 am

Is there any other details you can provide? I am running out of ideas.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

milo7
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Transmission

Postby milo7 » Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:38 am

Just want to post how I found my solution, maybe could help someone but also got some question...

First of all I guess, in ubuntu, transmission is installed from the beginning, but without the daemon. At least it could not find the daemon with "sudo /etc/init.d/transmission-daemon start"

So I tried an install like
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:transmissionbt/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install transmission-cli transmission-common transmission-daemon
Showed up following: (it's in german but the last line says all)
Vormals nicht ausgewähltes Paket transmission-daemon wird gewählt.
(Lese Datenbank ... 260576 Dateien und Verzeichnisse sind derzeit installiert.)
Entpacken von transmission-daemon (aus .../transmission-daemon_2.61-0ubuntu0.12.04.1_amd64.deb) ...
Vormals nicht ausgewähltes Paket transmission-cli wird gewählt.
Entpacken von transmission-cli (aus .../transmission-cli_2.61-0ubuntu0.12.04.1_amd64.deb) ...
Trigger für ureadahead werden verarbeitet ...
Trigger für man-db werden verarbeitet ...
transmission-daemon (2.61-0ubuntu0.12.04.1) wird eingerichtet ...
* Starting bittorrent daemon transmission-daemon
this I had to add
receive buffer: requested 4194304, got 262142 (tr-udp.c:77)
[09:38:47.931] UDP Please add the line "net.core.rmem_max = 4194304" to /etc/sysctl.conf (tr-udp.c:82)
[09:38:47.931] UDP Failed to set send buffer: requested 1048576, got 262142 (tr-udp.c:88)
[09:38:47.931] UDP Please add the line "net.core.wmem_max = 1048576" to /etc/sysctl.conf (tr-udp.c:93)
The rest I installed as shown in the link
http://www.webupd8.org/2009/12/setting- ... ui-in.html

I guess the most important case is to install the daemon, which I think, will not be installed with ubuntu naturally.
Guess I still have some path issues, download with the remote gui works good, but I can't move the files to another disk / folder...
Says: "check Tools/settings/paths

How can I give the remote gui the permission to use other folder / paths? Or do I always have to move it manually?

Any hints?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests