Transmission

milo7

Transmission

Postby milo7 » Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:39 am

Hello @ all,

well I am new to amahi, but I am knowing transmission pretty well.
Got a simple question. As Transmission is free to use, why do they charge something throught the amahi side?
Just don't understand that, Transmission is also free for ubuntu, or did I get something wrong?

Thanks for explanations

bigfoot65
Project Manager

Re: Transmission

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Jul 11, 2012 5:05 am

We have some apps that have a convenience fee. This helps offset costs incurred for operation of Amahi and its infrastructure. Some of the cost is also passed along to the app author as well. Many of them choose to give it back to Amahi, but we do provide them the option. The way I look at this is it's a cost for a service, which is what Amahi provides. A viable home server solution mostly for free I might add.

There are only a select number of apps with a nominal fee. Users are not forced to purchase the pre-configured apps. They can choose to manually install and configure themselves. There is usually guidance in the Amahi wiki or on the internet somewhere that describes the process. Most choose the apps for convenience, especially those with little or no linux experience.

Hope that helps clarify your question.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

milo7

Postby milo7 » Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:51 am

Most choose the apps for convenience, especially those with little or no linux experience.
Like me ;)

Got it installed and also the win remote gui. How do I connect to my server now, if I use the ip and the user and password of my hda it says connection refused. Do you have some experience with that?
Also noticed that the hda is only running with 10 mbit, usually was 100 mbit... :?:

bigfoot65
Project Manager

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:24 am