503 Service Unavailable

bradwebber
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:44 pm

503 Service Unavailable

Postby bradwebber » Sat Aug 28, 2010 10:04 pm

I've gone and broken SABnzbd and was hoping someone could give me a hand fixing it.

I tried updating SABnzbd from 0.5.0 to 0.5.4 using the instructions in the following wiki page:

http://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Sabnzb

The update didn't work, I got 503 Service Temporarily Unavailable errors. I tried running the following command:

Code: Select all

yum update
To see if that would get things up and running but it didn't make a difference.

I then uninstalled SABnzbd from the HDA dashboard and then reinstalled (noticed that the AMAHI package has been updated to 0.5.4 BTW, very nice) but I am still getting the 503 error.

Does anyone know what I may have done wrong and how I can fix it? Please let me know what additional information is required to debug the problem and also some basic instructions on how to get that information :)

Thanks in advance!

bradwebber
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: 503 Service Unavailable

Postby bradwebber » Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:37 am

I've been floundering around for the last few hours without much success. I have the following additional info that will hopefully help solve the problem:

When I run service sabnzbd status I get the message sabnzbd dead but subsys locked

When I try opening up SABnzbd using sabnzbd.home.com I get the 503 error, however if I use 192.168.1.10:25919/sabnzbd/ I get a Google Chrome message saying it could not connect to 192.168.1.10:25919.

SABnzbd actually seems to be working fine. I remoted into the HDA, opened a browser, and navigated to http://localhost:25919/sabnzbd/. SABnzbd opened up fine. I tested downloading a file and everything seems to have worked correctly.

User avatar
moredruid
Expert
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:33 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 503 Service Unavailable

Postby moredruid » Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:19 am

you must be root to do this!

first: service sabnzbd restart

if that doesn't work:
ps -ef | grep sabnzbd

note down the PID (it's the first number you see on the line)

kill -9 <PID>

Monit should pick up that sabnzbd is not running and start it again or you can start it manually:
service sabnzbd start

if the service start doesn't work: get the command part from your ps -ef output and paste it on your prompt. probably looks something like this:
/usr/bin/python /path/to/sabnzbd -dy sabnzbd.ini
echo '16i[q]sa[ln0=aln100%Pln100/snlbx]sbA0D2173656C7572206968616D41snlbxq' | dc
Galileo - HP Proliant ML110 G6 quad core Xeon 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 2x750GB RAID1 + 2x1TB RAID1 HDD

bradwebber
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: 503 Service Unavailable

Postby bradwebber » Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:59 am

Hi moredruid, thanks very much for your reply.

I worked through the steps you suggested however I am still getting the 503 error when I try to access SABnzbd from a client using sabnzbd.home.com.

When working through your suggestions I noticed the following (not sure if these are important or not):
  • The PID for SABnzbd was quite large, around 2500
    SABnzbd did not seem to restart automatically after I killed it
    I ran service sabnzbd start however the status is still sabnzbd dead but subsys locked
Is there anything else I could try?

User avatar
moredruid
Expert
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:33 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 503 Service Unavailable

Postby moredruid » Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:14 am

hmm weird.. well I've just checked and my sabnzbd was also broken *sigh*
I reinstalled the app and it worked again. Maybe a reboot will do the trick too (I rebooted because I moved my server to it's permanent location).

I noted that sabnzbd saves the data to /var/spool/sabnzbd, which in my case is located on a 5GB logical volume (/var is 5GB which should be more than sufficient), hardly enough to hold 1 DVD. I solved it by creating a bunch of symlinks to my data logical volume (which is mounted on /var/hda/files and is 1.1TB), but that's solving issues that shouldn't be there. I seem to recall that I've mentioned that before or even posted a bug on it.
echo '16i[q]sa[ln0=aln100%Pln100/snlbx]sbA0D2173656C7572206968616D41snlbxq' | dc
Galileo - HP Proliant ML110 G6 quad core Xeon 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 2x750GB RAID1 + 2x1TB RAID1 HDD

bradwebber
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: 503 Service Unavailable

Postby bradwebber » Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:38 am

Do you know if your SABnzbd stopped working because it was upgraded to 0.5.4?

I have tried uninstalling, rebooting, then reinstalling a few times without much luck. SABnzbd is actually working on my HDA, I just can't seem to access it anymore from other computers. I think the issue might actually be caused by a problem with DNS or apache, but that is more a guess than anything.

I noticed that /var/spool/sabnzbd folder as well. For a while I was contemplating uninstalling sabnzbd then manually removing all files that weren't removed as part of the uninstall (including /var/spool/sabnzbd). I decided against it because I don't really know what I am doing and that had the potential to make things much worse :)

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2618
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: 503 Service Unavailable

Postby cpg » Sun Aug 29, 2010 11:34 am

hmm, sab was recently updated based on a recommendation from gboudreau, who updated the package.

i just reinstalled and saw this:
SABnzbd detected a Queue and History from an older (0.4.x) release.
Both queue and history will be ignored and may get lost!
You may choose to stop SABnzbd and finish the queue with the older program.
Click OK to continue to SABnzbd
i did have to start the service by hand because i did not have monit running (due do me being debugging something else). i clicked OK and it's all running.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

bradwebber
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: 503 Service Unavailable

Postby bradwebber » Mon Aug 30, 2010 4:08 am

Yeah, I am pretty sure it is something I have done wrong rather than something being wrong with the package. I must have stuffed something up when I tried manually updating the app (I didn't realise an update was available at that stage).

It is a bit annoying because there doesn't seem to be a lot I can do about it. Manually starting the service, rebooting, uninstalling, and/or reinstalling doesn't seem to have any effect. That'll teach me to mess around with things I don't know :)

If anyone else has any suggestions on how to fix this I would really appreciate hearing from you!

bradwebber
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: 503 Service Unavailable

Postby bradwebber » Mon Aug 30, 2010 7:06 am

OK, just in case anyone is interested, I managed to solve the problem.

/etc/httpd/conf.d/1002-sabnzbd.conf was mapping to localhost on port 25914:

Code: Select all

ProxyPass / http://localhost:25914/sabnzbd/ ProxyPassReverse / http://localhost:25914/sabnzbd/
My SABnzbd installation is currently set up to listen on port 25919. All I had to do was update the 1002-sabnzbd.conf file to map to port 25919, reload the httpd service, and everything was back up and running.

I have no idea how the port mapping got out of sync, although I wouldn't be surprised if it had something to do with the manual update I tried to perform.

I hope this helps out others :)

User avatar
moredruid
Expert
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:33 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 503 Service Unavailable

Postby moredruid » Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:01 am

good catch!

CPG: is this another setting managed in the amahi database? just in case he ever reboots :p
echo '16i[q]sa[ln0=aln100%Pln100/snlbx]sbA0D2173656C7572206968616D41snlbxq' | dc
Galileo - HP Proliant ML110 G6 quad core Xeon 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 2x750GB RAID1 + 2x1TB RAID1 HDD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 50 guests