CLOSED: Plex Server install How?

nitramdranoel
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 12:07 pm

CLOSED: Plex Server install How?

Postby nitramdranoel » Thu Jun 04, 2020 12:22 pm

I installed Amahi with the intention of running Plex. I installed it and purchsed the Plex app for $9.99 because "all the configuration issues" are done for you.

So I bought it and nothing... nothing has happened. Now the price has dissapeared the $9.99 has left my Papal account

But Plex is nowhere and there is no install button or link or anything.

I did get some odd message about wrong server time, I have reinstalled the Amahi server Network time error has gone.

I do not want to use Amahi as DHCP I have DHCP on my router and need it to stay that way. Don't want to change this, really really don't want to change this.

I ran the self help network help page and all (with the exception of temporarily changing the local host i ran it on to DHCP 192.168....etc

It found no problems everything tickety boo and DHCP on this host is now back to auto.

I know this issue has come up before but there doesn't seem to be a "click this, type that etc" anywhere.

Also I'd love to turn off the dynamic dns as I have a static IP anyway

Help please

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11920
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Plex Server install How?

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Jun 04, 2020 6:38 pm

One you purchase the application, you must install it from your HDA dashboard.

Go to the Applications tab and search for it. You should find it there.

There’s no need need to turn off the dynamic DNS. You don’t have to use it.

Main part is to turn off DHCP on the HDA and your router will continue to provide that function.

See turning off DHCP in the wiki for guidance.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

nitramdranoel
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 12:07 pm

Re: Plex Server install How?

Postby nitramdranoel » Fri Jun 05, 2020 6:55 am

Ok Thanks, I turned off DHCP thanks

The Plex Server problem, still here and I'm getting this

Still says network problem, so I guess there is something more to do?

I Can't see any option to purchase (I already have but the option has disappeared suggesting that it knows I already bought it)

But I can't seem to get any further, I'm going to reboot the system with DHCP off to see if that fixes.

nb I also noticed that the Host I was managing through it was set to GMT not BST (auto switch was unchecked) making it an hour wrong, I have corrected that and rebooted the host.

UPDATE*** I have rebooted both Host and Server and yet I still get the screen as posted be here as an attachment

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11920
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Plex Server install How?

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Jun 05, 2020 7:32 am

No picture attached.

When you go to install the app, are you doing so from your HDA.

Installs are not done on the Amahi web site. Once you purchase the application, log off the site and go to your HDA (server) dashboard.

If you aren’t seeing any apps in the tab, then you have a connectivity issue.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

nitramdranoel
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 12:07 pm

Re: Plex Server install How?

Postby nitramdranoel » Fri Jun 05, 2020 10:37 am

I am trying to install from the hda, there is a message saying network error I enclose 2 screen shots.

I have run the network trouble shooter and it says everything is fine.

Can you please point me in the right direction. I chose Amahi because I read it was simple and the configuration work was done for you.

Correction, I can't add screen shots of approx 100kb each because it says

Error
Sorry, the board attachment quota has been reached.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11920
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Plex Server install How?

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Jun 05, 2020 8:10 pm

Using terminal, check /var/log/amahi-app-installer.log file for errors.

That may provide a clue as to the issue.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

nitramdranoel
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 12:07 pm

Re: Plex Server install How?

Postby nitramdranoel » Sun Jun 07, 2020 6:58 am

I've installed putty and puttygen, I've set up the public and private keys and can SSH into the server, how do I pull up a terminal please? Ctrl+Alt+T don't work. more familiar with Debian based OS.

TIA

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11920
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Plex Server install How?

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Jun 07, 2020 7:45 am

Once you SSH into the server and have a command prompt, you are in a terminal.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

nitramdranoel
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 12:07 pm

Re: Plex Server install How?

Postby nitramdranoel » Sun Jun 07, 2020 8:14 am

@localhost log]$ ls


anaconda dnf.librepo.log hda-updates.log passenger-analytics tallylog
audit dnf.log httpd php-fpm wtmp
boot.log dnf.rpm.log journal README
btmp firewalld lastlog samba
chrony hawkey.log mariadb sssd

I can't see an install log?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11920
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Plex Server install How?

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Jun 07, 2020 8:52 am

Did you check /var/log/amahi-app-installer.log?

The log file is not in your home directory. You have to look where I posted.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yandex [Bot] and 1 guest