SOLVED: Just bought PLEX, but nobody there

peddie
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 10:52 pm

SOLVED: Just bought PLEX, but nobody there

Postby peddie » Sun May 28, 2017 9:28 pm

Just purchased the PLEX media server app, but when I click on the link provided under amahi/apps, I'm taken to a page that shows a PLEX splash screen asking me to upgrade to a paid PLEX, and when I close that window I'm looking at a perpetual spinner telling me its looking for a PLEX server. I'm also given an option of downloading a PLEX server on the main window, but if I click on that it wants to download to my mac, not my hda. How do I get the actual PLEX server installed and running on the hda? Either that or get my money back for the purchase....

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10941
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Just bought PLEX, but nobody there

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon May 29, 2017 7:44 am

Please provide the URL for:

Code: Select all

apaste --sysinfo
Is this a new #Amahi install? Do other apps work? Check /var/log/amahi-app-installer.log for errors.

Did you check out the Plex guidance in the wiki for your issue?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

peddie
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 10:52 pm

Re: Just bought PLEX, but nobody there

Postby peddie » Mon May 29, 2017 9:31 am

Checked the log, and there are no errors from install. diskutil and greyhole log monitor work fine. I've also purchased and installed gallery3. That app comes up, but when I try and login with the id I created for gallery2 it doesn't work. I've tried resetting the password, but I never get a password reset email. Checking out their website, gallery is now a dead (i.e. unsupported) app. Did amahi pick up support for it? How do I create a new login or reset my old one so I can actually use the app?

As for plex, uninstalled and reinstalled. No errors in log file. But when I click on the dashboard link, it takes me a plex page and tells me that no server is found. I thought purchasing the amahi one click install would make sure an amahi friendly version of plex was installed. I can go thru the steps on the wiki and manually install a server, but then why did I pay for the amahi version?

Not sure what I should do here....

peddie
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 10:52 pm

Re: Just bought PLEX, but nobody there

Postby peddie » Mon May 29, 2017 9:34 am

It is a fresh amahi install. And here is url for apaste:
https://da.gd/u464 -> https://paste.fedoraproject.org/paste/0 ... ivL9gydE=/

peddie
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 10:52 pm

Re: Just bought PLEX, but nobody there

Postby peddie » Mon May 29, 2017 11:25 am

For PLEX, it is a DNS issue. When I log on to the server using the IP address, works fine and sees the server.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10941
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Just bought PLEX, but nobody there

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon May 29, 2017 11:30 am

Why did you install Gallery 2? It's not LIVE for #Amahi 10.

We cautioned users who upgrade about apps that won't be available in the newer version. Did you not see it?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10941
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Just bought PLEX, but nobody there

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon May 29, 2017 5:47 pm

Since you original issue has been resolved, marking this as closed.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

rafkid
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 5:48 am

Re: SOLVED: Just bought PLEX, but nobody there

Postby rafkid » Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:58 am

I have exactly this issue.

If I use http://plexms.home I get the issue.

However if I use http://hdaip:32400/web/index.html then I go to the login page and the Plex server reports it can find itself and I am able to start configuring libraries etc. Which implies a DNS issue maybe? Not that I know much of anything.

I am guessing BigFoot does :)

It would be nice to know how to get the DNS server to recognise Plex. Am I right in thinking the one click install should have addressed this?

Edit: After several hours of fiddling around with Plex via it's IP the DNS server suddenly decided to recognise Plex with the name I gave it. All sorted for me thankfully. I found the add DNS alias button as a result of this so that was a bonus.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10941
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: SOLVED: Just bought PLEX, but nobody there

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Jul 11, 2017 2:53 pm

Good to hear it's working.

In future we'd appreciate if you did not use a closed thread.

Best to start new and provide details specific to your system. Not all issues are the same, even if they initially appear so.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest