Page 1 of 2

SOLVED: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:38 am
by cdcrawford
So, my HDA updated last night, and it replaced my release from Plex with the amahi-plex-0.1.3-1.x86_64 package from the Amahi repo. Now, my PMS won't start today.

Code: Select all

starting at Thu Feb 13 02:01:01 AST 2014 first, sleep 59 seconds to avoid contentions hda update attempt #1 @ Thu Feb 13 02:02:00 AST 2014 Loaded plugins: fastestmirror Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile * fedora: fedora.mirror.nexicom.net * rpmfusion-free: mirror.nexcess.net * rpmfusion-free-updates: mirror.nexcess.net * rpmfusion-nonfree: mirror.nexcess.net * rpmfusion-nonfree-updates: mirror.nexcess.net * updates: fedora.mirror.nexicom.net Package hda-greyhole-0.9.39-5.x86_64 already installed and latest version Package hda-ctl-5.1.4-1.x86_64 already installed and latest version Package hda-platform-7.1.1-1.x86_64 already installed and latest version Package hda-release-6.9.0-1.noarch already installed and latest version Nothing to do Loaded plugins: fastestmirror Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile * fedora: fedora.mirror.nexicom.net * rpmfusion-free: mirror.nexcess.net * rpmfusion-free-updates: mirror.nexcess.net * rpmfusion-nonfree: mirror.nexcess.net * rpmfusion-nonfree-updates: mirror.nexcess.net * updates: fedora.mirror.nexicom.net Resolving Dependencies --> Running transaction check ---> Package amahi-plex.x86_64 0:0.1.3-1 will be obsoleting ---> Package plexmediaserver.x86_64 0:0.9.8.14.263-139ddbc will be obsoleted --> Finished Dependency Resolution Dependencies Resolved ================================================================================ Package Arch Version Repository Size ================================================================================ Installing: amahi-plex x86_64 0.1.3-1 amahi 56 M replacing plexmediaserver.x86_64 0.9.8.14.263-139ddbc Transaction Summary ================================================================================ Install 1 Package Total download size: 56 M Downloading packages: Running transaction check Running transaction test Transaction test succeeded Running transaction Installing : amahi-plex-0.1.3-1.x86_64 1/2 Redirecting to /bin/systemctl stop plex.service Failed to issue method call: Unit plex.service not loaded. Erasing : plexmediaserver-0.9.8.14.263-139ddbc.x86_64 2/2 Verifying : amahi-plex-0.1.3-1.x86_64 1/2 Verifying : plexmediaserver-0.9.8.14.263-139ddbc.x86_64 2/2 Installed: amahi-plex.x86_64 0:0.1.3-1 Replaced: plexmediaserver.x86_64 0:0.9.8.14.263-139ddbc Complete!
So far, what I've gather is that it changed my permissions on my HDA for /var/lib/plexmediaserver/ from plex:users to apache:users. Restarted my application, and now I am not able to access my from anywhere in my house. Good times.

Anyone have an idea on how to fix this?

Re: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:49 am
by cdcrawford
Update:
Found the service that would start plex. It's amahi-plex.service. I'm trying now to figure out how to start it without errors. It won't start on boot now. But, that's correctable.

I'll update when I know more.

Hopefully, my database is intact.

Re: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:20 am
by cdcrawford
Database is intact.

I ran the following to correct the problem:
Changed the users of my database, from plex:users to apache:users. It was half done. Most people will NOT have to do this.

Code: Select all

sudo chown apache:users /var/lib/plexmediaserver/
Allowed the amahi-plex.service to start on boot:

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl enable amahi-plex
Started the service:

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl start amahi-plex
Get the status of the service.

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl status amahi-plex amahi-plex.service - Plex Media Server for Amahi Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/amahi-plex.service; enabled) Active: active (running) since Thu 2014-02-13 11:13:20 AST; 1min 43s ago Process: 787 ExecStart=/usr/bin/amahi-plex (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS) Main PID: 800 (runuser) CGroup: name=systemd:/system/amahi-plex.service ├─ 800 runuser -u apache -g users /usr/lib64/plexmediaserver/Plex Media Server ├─ 840 /usr/lib64/plexmediaserver/Plex Media Server ├─1512 Plex Plug-in [com.plexapp.system] /var/lib/plexmediaserver/Library/Application Support/Plex Media Server/Plug-ins/Framework.bundle/Contents/Resourc... └─1805 /usr/lib64/plexmediaserver/Plex DLNA Server
All is good in the hood!

Re: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:25 am
by BigMcLargeHuge
Thanks for the information cdcrawford, that worked for me. My question is why did Amahi replace the release from Plex, when I didn't buy the PMS app from Amahi? Should that behavior even be allowed?

Re: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:47 pm
by bigfoot65
Thanks for the report. I have filed a bug so we can fix the RPM.
https://bugs.amahi.org/issues/1302#change-3548

When we release the Plex Media Server app, it will be using amahi-plex so all the issues with dependencies and DLNA will be resolved.

Recommend that users stick with amahi-plex vs the plex RPM or things will break again.

Re: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:20 pm
by zombu2
This is stating a real problem since now i cannot install the newest version of plex which is way far ahead of what is supplied by amahi .

you used to be able to just load the rpm and update it but now it is obsoleted by the amahi supplied version

not good

Re: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:47 pm
by bigfoot65
Please add this concern to the bug I mentioned in the previous post.

I presume you can uninstall the Amahi app and install it manually, correct? Of course you may need to exclude amahi-plex in the yum config file.

Re: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:17 pm
by irishxlink
This happened to me as well today. My plexpass version is being overruled "due to obsoletes from installed amahi-plex." How would i exclude amahi-plex in the yum config?

Re: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:29 pm
by bigfoot65
Edit /etc/yum.conf and add the following at the bottom :

Code: Select all

exclude=amahi-plex
When you run yum update, it should now ignore it.

Re: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:31 pm
by irishxlink
Thanks Bigfoot