SOLVED: HDA Update last night, re: plex

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:36 pm

No problem. I have also added this to the wiki.
https://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Plex_Media_Server
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

irishxlink
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 8:50 am

Re: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Postby irishxlink » Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:57 pm

Hey Bigfoot do you know why this could have happened in the first place? I didn't purchase the Plex app through Amahi and yet it still pushed it to my system.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Feb 17, 2014 1:15 pm

We have packaged Plex Media Server specific for Amahi. By doing so, it's now in our repo and automatically updates any Plex Media Server version that exists on your machine.

The Amahi packaged version removes dependency issues that occurred with the original package and DLNA. Now things work as designed.

Sorry it removed your manual version, but the exclude line will prevent that in the future.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

irishxlink
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 8:50 am

Re: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Postby irishxlink » Mon Feb 17, 2014 1:24 pm

Cool.
No way, i totally get it. Its way simpler to get things that everyone wants to the masses by putting it in the repos. Thanks for the help and info.

Side note to anyone else that has this issue here is how i fixed my plex install so i could get my plexpass version back and my working database

First exclude the Amahi version of Plex – Thanks Bigfoot65
sudo nano /etc/yum.conf
add a line - exclude=amahi-plex
save

Then remove the Amahi version of plex
sudo yum remove amahi-plex

change owner and group back to plex
sudo chmod -R plex:plex /var/lib/plexmediaserver

This will take a while

then install your rpm version
sudo rpm -ivh plexmediaserver-0.9.9.2.374-aa23a69.x86_64

Now i am able to use my plexpass version again.

cdcrawford
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 7:29 am

Re: SOLVED: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Postby cdcrawford » Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:58 am

It happened again last night after I installed some programs from the Amahi store.

I traced the issue down to the excludes line in the /etc/yum.conf file. If there are two excludes lines, it only accepts the last one.

So, the fix was to add it to the excludes line as this:

Code: Select all

exclude=monitorix* amahi-plex*
After a yum update, removing the Amahi-plex, and changing the premissions, I am back up and running now.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: SOLVED: HDA Update last night, re: plex

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:21 pm

Good to know. I had 2 exclude lines in my /etc/yum.conf file. They seemed to be working. I will have to check.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest