SOLVED: Plex App Problem

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11924
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Plex App Problem

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Jun 03, 2013 5:22 pm

That is correct, should one need read and execute. The script sets the directories to -rwxrwx--- (770) and files to -rw-rw---- (660) based on what I see. Not sure if that is adequate for Plex.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

Bureaucromancer
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 7:32 pm

Re: Plex App Problem

Postby Bureaucromancer » Sun Jun 09, 2013 4:57 pm

Have you had any luck with the library local mount issue? Oddly enough I thought mine WAS working on the mounts, but since sorting out my share problems I realized I'd only tested it with temporary non pooled shares. I'm getting the same problem. I've actually gone and set my video share (and contents) to 777 (manually though, haven't touched the mount script) and it still doesn't work, so I suspect it's not a permissions issue as such.

Interesting note though, when I use the file explorer to set up the libraries in Plex NO contents of the shares are visible. I can browse to /mnt/samba/Videos, but not even the folders from there are visible.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11924
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Plex App Problem

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Jun 09, 2013 5:14 pm

It seems Plex may not play nicely with Greyhole. If I recall, it works fine if pointed to the shares and not the /mnt/samba/share, correct?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

Bureaucromancer
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 7:32 pm

Re: Plex App Problem

Postby Bureaucromancer » Sun Jun 09, 2013 5:44 pm

It does, but Plex definitely does need to be able to write files. Is there a decent explanation of what directly manipulating the contents of /var/hda/files is liable to do somewhere? My (fairly basic) understanding of the way Greyhole works suggests that at least most of the time things will be ok given what Plex does as long as you don't go deleting files through it (and that even then it will just be an orphaned files issue, rather than general problems or things disappearing).
Last edited by Bureaucromancer on Sun Jun 09, 2013 6:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11924
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Plex App Problem

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Jun 09, 2013 5:49 pm

That's the way I understand it with Greyhole. Unfortunately it seems a lot of apps don't work well with it. Amahi Sync is one, cannot handle symlinks :(
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

demitriusmac
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 9:43 am

Re: Plex App Problem

Postby demitriusmac » Thu Jul 04, 2013 10:20 am

Hi guys,

I've been following the entire thread and i cant still figure out why the Plex Media Server under SETTINGS>SERVERS is still not running.

I have installed and reinstalled many times, checked the logs, tried manually uninstalling plex as mentione and still nothing :-(

I changed the files as well from the mounted shares to the regular shares... i can see my video files which I wasnt able to before but the media server still wont run.

As a last resort i tried installing DLNA server to see if that would get it to work and still nothing...

have you guys found a work around yet? I'll attach the last set of install notes so you guys can take a look and see if i'm missing something.

thanks!!!

Code: Select all

======= app install begin @ Thu Jul 04 17:36:56 +0100 2013 ========== Installing app id y47iytek0u under /var/hda/platform/html ENV=production Your HDA services have been restarted. Your HDA services have been restarted. Downloading deb package... 32-bit NOTE: file /tmp/amahi-download-cache/790002034fad62f0bec38b10e7a8f71399eb9179 written in cache Installing deb package... Selecting previously unselected package plexmediaserver. (Reading database ... 192035 files and directories currently installed.) Unpacking plexmediaserver (from plexmediaserver_0.9.7.22.511-4b5280f_i386.deb) ... Setting up plexmediaserver (0.9.7.22.511-4b5280f) ... OK plexmediaserver start/running, process 29259 Processing triggers for desktop-file-utils ... Processing triggers for bamfdaemon ... Rebuilding /usr/share/applications/bamf.index... Processing triggers for gnome-menus ... Processing triggers for ureadahead ... App: Plex Media Server installed ======= app install end @ Thu Jul 04 17:38:11 +0100 2013

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11924
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Plex App Problem

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Jul 04, 2013 11:31 am

Check to see if it's running via command line. If it is, then there is a problem with how Amahi detects it's running. We can troubleshoot it, but would need your assistance.

Check in /var/run for a file such as plexmediaserver.pid or something similar.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

demitriusmac
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 9:43 am

Re: Plex App Problem

Postby demitriusmac » Thu Jul 04, 2013 12:43 pm

Check to see if it's running via command line. If it is, then there is a problem with how Amahi detects it's running. We can troubleshoot it, but would need your assistance.

Check in /var/run for a file such as plexmediaserver.pid or something similar.

I did the following on the command line # ps -A and I see the following processes running "Plex Media Serv" and "Plex DLNA Serv"

I also did # ps -u plex and got the following Image

.... is this what you are asking about? if not, could you let me know the command to see the pid?

-great thanks!

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11924
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Plex App Problem

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Jul 04, 2013 1:12 pm

Yes looks like it's running. To see the PID file, look in /var/run directory for a file that might be associated with Plex. If you cat the file, it often contains the process number you see with the command you just ran.

That file is what Amahi uses to see if a service is running or not, using Monit.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

Dubun290
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:50 pm

Re: Plex App Problem

Postby Dubun290 » Sat Jul 06, 2013 9:44 pm

I have the same issue, plex running but not showing up as such in Monit. Checked /var/run and no sign of pid file for Plex.

[ Post made via iPad ] Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest