pyTivo Install

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11866
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: pyTivo Install

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 12:12 pm

Have you received confirmation your account has been created?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

lassenloop
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:20 pm

Re: pyTivo Install

Postby lassenloop » Sun Jul 28, 2013 2:37 pm

I'm not sure which section of the wiki is suitable for editing, as it relates to adding custom software.


edit: One more thing I'm trying to do is use an .htaccess, instead of an .html file. But it just keeps producing a server error. Any ideas?

Code: Select all

RewriteEngine On RewriteCond %{SERVER_PORT} 80 RewriteRule (.*) http://%{HTTP_HOST}:9032 [R,L]

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11866
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: pyTivo Install

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Jul 28, 2013 5:08 pm

I created a page for you.
https://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/PyTivo

As for the .htaccess file, ensure it's owned by apache:users and in the /var/hda/web-apps/appname folder or where ever you have pyTivo installed.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

lassenloop
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:20 pm

Re: pyTivo Install

Postby lassenloop » Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:49 pm

I created a page for you.
https://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/PyTivo

As for the .htaccess file, ensure it's owned by apache:users and in the /var/hda/web-apps/appname folder or where ever you have pyTivo installed.
I've updated the wiki for Amahi 7. It works, with one exception. The pyHME script doesn't work. I can manually start pyHME by running

Code: Select all

sudo python /usr/share/pyhme/start.py
But I cannot get the script to work. This is the same script I have used on Amahi 6. The script comes back and says OK, but it never starts the service.

Do you have any ideas as to what might be wrong with the script?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11866
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: pyTivo Install

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Apr 10, 2014 3:44 am

What works on Amahi 6 does not always work on Amahi 7. Fedora 19 uses a different type of service.

I will take a look when I have time. Have you checked for guidance that is Fedora 19 compatible?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

lassenloop
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:20 pm

Re: pyTivo Install

Postby lassenloop » Thu Apr 10, 2014 6:36 am

What works on Amahi 6 does not always work on Amahi 7. Fedora 19 uses a different type of service.

I will take a look when I have time. Have you checked for guidance that is Fedora 19 compatible?
I've searched pretty extensively. I haven't seen anything specific to Fedora 19. I also used the same script on my server when it ran a previous OS based on Fedora.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11866
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: pyTivo Install

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:18 am

That was my point. Older versions of Fedora operate differently than this one. For example, probably would work fine on Fedora 14.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

lassenloop
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:20 pm

Re: Using Amahi DNS causes timeouts and high ping?

Postby lassenloop » Tue Apr 15, 2014 1:07 pm

By changing the call to start.py and removing the " > /dev/null 2>&1 &" as show below, I got the service to start when I type sudo service pyhme start. But it still doesn't start on boot. Any ideas?

Code: Select all

# this call actually starts pyHME. python /usr/share/pyhme/start.py > /dev/null 2>&1 & RETVAL=$? [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && echo -n "done"
to

Code: Select all

# this call actually starts pyHME. python /usr/share/pyhme/start.py RETVAL=$? [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && echo -n "done"

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash # chkconfig: 2345 99 05 # description: pyHME server ### INIT INFO # Provides: pyhme # Required-Start: $network # Required-Stop: $network # Default-Start: 2 3 4 5 # Default-Stop: 0 1 6 # Short-description: pyHME server # Description: Start and stop the pyHME server. ### END INIT INFO RETVAL=0 start() { echo -n "Starting pyHME: " pgrep -f start.py RETVAL=$? [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && echo "pyHME already running: Exiting" && exit 1 # this call actually starts pyHME. python /usr/share/pyhme/start.py > /dev/null 2>&1 & RETVAL=$? [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && echo -n "done" echo return $RETVAL } stop() { echo -n "Stopping pyHME: " pkill -f start.py RETVAL=$? echo [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && echo -n "done" echo return $RETVAL } checkstatus() { if [ ! `pgrep -f python` ]; then echo -n $"pyHME is stopped" echo else echo "pyHME is running." fi } # See how we were called. case "$1" in start) start ;; stop) stop ;; status) checkstatus ;; restart|reload) stop sleep 1 start RETVAL=$? ;; *) echo "Usage: $0 {start|stop|restart}" exit 1 esac exit $RETVAL

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11866
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: pyTivo Install

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Apr 15, 2014 1:56 pm

If it's in /etc/init.d, then do chkconfig pyhme on. That should make it start on boot.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

lassenloop
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:20 pm

Re: pyTivo Install

Postby lassenloop » Tue Apr 15, 2014 5:30 pm

If it's in /etc/init.d, then do chkconfig pyhme on. That should make it start on boot.
I've done that and I did a chmod u+x on the file. It just doesn't start on boot, even though I can manually call it. I also find it strange that > /dev/null 2>&1 & causes it to not work properly.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests