CLOSED: Cannot add disk to pool

bleriot
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 1:02 pm

CLOSED: Cannot add disk to pool

Postby bleriot » Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:20 pm

Hi
I've been searching for a solution for adding disks to Greyhole for a while now (one week), and also on this forum, but without finding any solution to my problem.
I'm installing on a HP Media Smart X510
The system all my disks apparently, but I can't add my two 2TB disks to the pool.
Where am I going wrong here???

Thanks

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11648
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Cannot add disk to pool

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:32 pm

Are you using the greyhole-us App or did you manually install Greyhole?

Provide the URL for:

Code: Select all

apaste —sysinfo
BTW the wiki is our source of tutorials.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

bleriot
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 1:02 pm

Re: Cannot add disk to pool

Postby bleriot » Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:24 pm

Hi, and thanks for your reply

I'm using the Greyhole app, and not the manual install, and it is the latest system and installed from scratch.
I have folowed the prerequisites, preparation, identify, partition/format and I get errors...

There must be something I do wrong...


Thanks

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11648
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Cannot add disk to pool

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Apr 01, 2019 2:24 pm

Did you add your disks to Linux?

Unlike Windows OS, they have to be mounted manually.

See the adding a second hard drive to your HDA guidance.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

bleriot
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 1:02 pm

Re: Cannot add disk to pool

Postby bleriot » Sat Apr 13, 2019 10:45 pm

I assume that my disks properly set up in my server...

I'm trying to upload a screenshot, but apparently this is not working either.....

bleriot
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 1:02 pm

Re: Cannot add disk to pool

Postby bleriot » Sat Apr 13, 2019 11:01 pm

I've installed cockpit on my server, hoping for some way to setup my server properly...
I have sdb1 and sdc1 in my file systems but with no Mount Point. When I try to format them, i get the message that I'm not authorized to perform that operation. (I'm logged in as admin).

There must be some way to set up a machine properly via a GUI. I've tried in terminal, but to no vain.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11648
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Cannot add disk to pool

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:09 am

You did not provide the URL from my earlier post. That helps with support of your needs.

Also, the manual guidance is the only solution for adding drives since disk-wizard App is broken.

Sorry, but there is no other method. Cockpit App won’t help with this task.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

bleriot
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 1:02 pm

Re: Cannot add disk to pool

Postby bleriot » Sun Apr 14, 2019 3:58 pm

sorry

I'm not sure what you want me to do with apaste —sysinfo (run it in terminal?)

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11648
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Cannot add disk to pool

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 4:21 pm

Sorry, yes do it from terminal.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

bleriot
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 1:02 pm

Re: Cannot add disk to pool

Postby bleriot » Sun Apr 14, 2019 11:30 pm

this is the result of that url you asked for

[admin@hda ~]$ apaste -sysinfo
Usage: apaste [OPTION]... [FILE]...
send text file(s), stdin, or clipboard to the https://paste.fedoraproject.org/api/paste pastebin and return the URL.

Examples:
apaste file1.txt file2.txt
dmesg | apaste
(prog1; prog2; prog3) | fpaste
apaste --sysinfo -d "my pass" --confirm
apaste -t "debug output" -d "my pass" -l python foo.py

apaste: error: no such option: -s
[admin@hda ~]$

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests