CLOSED: Connecting from outside the home network

b23norris
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 7:51 pm

CLOSED: Connecting from outside the home network

Postby b23norris » Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:28 pm

I have tried for several days now looking through these threads and either nit understanding something or missing something.I am using Fedora23 with Amahi. I am wanting to connect to my dashboard and apps while I am not on my home network. I use one of the apps while I am at other places. I can connect via cell phone but when I click on the app it takes me to a site that wants me to purchase the domain name. I see all the apps on my dashboard but can not access the apps. I will be trying to connect with laptop later this evening and see what happens. But any help here would be great.

I should also add that I can connect through the Phone app Amahi also with no issues from my phone while off the network.
Thanks
Brent

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11677
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Connecting from outside the home network

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:06 pm

What app are you trying to use?

Not all apps work withe the amahi-anywhere App.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

b23norris
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 7:51 pm

Re: Connecting from outside the home network

Postby b23norris » Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:03 am

I am trying to use MyITCRM. I really like this program for my business but would like to be able to use it while at a clients house. If this does not work is there anything such as this that does work? I tried to install VTiger to test it out but had issues with it and was not able to connect to my hda at all when I installed it.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11677
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Connecting from outside the home network

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:48 am

Have you tried the hosting a web site guidance for a single app?

That should work for what you want to do via a web browser.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

b23norris
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 7:51 pm

Re: Connecting from outside the home network

Postby b23norris » Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:56 pm

I am able to follow everything there, until the end where it says: WARNING: Some apps will work right out of the box so to speak with these steps. Others however, (such as mediawiki) will require additional work before you can visit them on the internet. You will need to edit the apps config file to change the server address of that app. We will use mediawiki as an example.

So suppose I have a domain name, which is pointed at my hda - and I set up a subdomain that for the mediawiki app. We'll call it mediawiki.myname.com. After installing media wiki, I need to go

There is no LocalSettings.php in the directory. everything from there on I am not able to find.

b23norris
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 7:51 pm

Re: Connecting from outside the home network

Postby b23norris » Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:00 pm

Thanks for the help, I have found out I have to type in username.yourhda.com to access it. It takes me right to the the page.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11677
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Connecting from outside the home network

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:58 pm

Glad to hear you got it working.

Can we mark this topic closed?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

b23norris
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 7:51 pm

Re: Connecting from outside the home network

Postby b23norris » Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:08 pm

Yes you may mark this closed.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests