Add Mount Point

jaylanzy
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:23 am

Add Mount Point

Postby jaylanzy » Sat Jan 06, 2018 9:45 am

Disclaimer: Total Noob.

It appears that my root drive is unmounted. The disk utility apparently confirms this.

If i would use the utility to mount, would the disk be erased as a precursor to mounting.

What other pitfall exist or suggestions.

Any suggestions?

Thx

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11677
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Add Mount Point

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Jan 06, 2018 3:45 pm

If the root drive was not mounted, the OS would not boot.

What version are you using?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

jaylanzy
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:23 am

Re: Add Mount Point

Postby jaylanzy » Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:25 pm

I am using 8. I am getting a Danger do not include root in greyhole error. I assumed it was the drive that the error appears. There are no mount points on the drive in question. It might be that root is on another drive and it is showing the error.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11677
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Add Mount Point

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:28 pm

Ok. Yea don’t include the root partition as part of the Greyhole storage pool.

The root partition is the Greyhole landing zone and should not be used which is why you see the error.

Main reason is the root partition can quickly get filled up and the server will crash. Once this happens a reboot will result in emergency mode and render the server inoperable.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

jaylanzy
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:23 am

Re: Add Mount Point

Postby jaylanzy » Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:07 am

What is the best way to resolve this? Through the disk utility? Is this a Fatal error at the install?


Thanks!

Your Noobian Friend

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11677
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Add Mount Point

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 11:31 am

How did you install Greyhole?

Just ensure the root partition is not selected for the storage pool. Nothing to do with disk utility or the OS / Amahi install.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests