CLOSED: Newbie Questions: Amahi Express CD or DVD? and IP Addresses for Gateway and HDA

Chrisleen

CLOSED: Newbie Questions: Amahi Express CD or DVD? and IP Addresses for Gateway and HDA

Postby Chrisleen » Wed Sep 02, 2015 6:57 pm

I am a newbie trying to set up a NAS from an old laptop for backups and file sharing mostly. I was thinking a headless installation would be fine to maximize performance.

I am stuck on some real basic stuff:

1.) Amahi Express Install - On this Installation WIki, (https://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Main_Page#Installation) it calls the the Amahi Express a "CD", but when I downloaded the ISO it refers to it as a DVD. And then on this page (http://docs.amahi.org/amahi-7-express.html) it refers to it as a DVD. The file is nearly 800MB (too big for a CD), but I only have a CD-RW drive, so I felt a bit duped. Is there any way to get a supported version of the latest GA Code using a CD or Thumb drive? (I have a 64 bit system).

2.) If I can find a friend with the right HW to burn the DVD, if it as simple as burning that .iso file to a DVD or is there more involved?

3.) Assuming I can get the code installed on my old laptop, I have another issue with setting up the HDA. When I first create an account, they are asking for me to provide IP Addresses for Network Gateway and HDA and a Local DNS Domain Name. I need advice on what to choose here. I ran ipconfig, and so I think my default gateway is 192.168.1.254, so I assume I put this in the fist cell for my "Existing NW Gateway", right? For the Fixed IP address, should I leave the default? I don't understand what the default DNS domain is, so not sure what to put here. How would changing it help?

4.) How do I set the old laptop to be fixed with that IP Address? Also if I google, "what's my IP" I get a different number than this 192 number... 209.99... etc. why don't they match?

Thanks.

bigfoot65
Project Manager

Re: Newbie Questions: Amahi Express CD or DVD? and IP Addresses for Gateway and HDA