Installation, partitioning, disk space

RedAlibi

Installation, partitioning, disk space

Postby RedAlibi » Fri Aug 21, 2015 1:06 pm

Hello, I just got this installed and after a bit of struggling with a couple of items I thought I had everything up and ready to go. Now, I started adding shortcuts to my shares in my windows explorer. My questions is that I have a 4TB hard drive and I did not change any of the partition settings on installation. When I added my shares short cuts it says I have 30 gigs of free space out of 39 gigs total space. Are my shares on the wrong partition, did I do something wrong on the install. Seems that my shares should be in the 3.5 TB section of remaining space. Sorry, I am very new to this and not quite sure how to proceed. I wanted to put a bunch of my music on the network, but I will fill the 30 gigs of space in no time. I have made the following screen shots to show exactly what I mean. Thanks.

bigfoot65
Project Manager

Re: Installation, partitioning, disk space

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Aug 21, 2015 2:03 pm

Did you install on the 4TB drive or is this a second drive?

There are special formatting requirements for drives over 2TB that must be followed for Linux.

If this is a secondary drive, you have to follow the adding a second hard drive to your HDA guidance in the wiki.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

RedAlibi

Postby RedAlibi » Fri Aug 21, 2015 3:21 pm

Nope, I have just the one drive. I wasn't aware of any restrictions on hard drive sizes, but as I said I am really new to networking and linux. So, is there something I can do to make my 4tb hard drive work?

bigfoot65
Project Manager

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Aug 21, 2015 5:03 pm

Honestly you would be better using a smaller drive for the OS and Amahi, then add the 4TB for data.

Do the following as root user from command line:

Code: Select all

df -h