Trying to install LXDE

TeamSiomha
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:00 am

Trying to install LXDE

Postby TeamSiomha » Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:04 am

I am trying to get LXDE installed on my HDA so that I can run the CrashPlanDesktop client and configure the computer.

I have followed instructions given to me in IRC and run

Code: Select all

yum groupinstall "LXDE"
When I run

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/startlxde
I get
cp: cannot stat ‘/usr/share/lxde/pcmanfm/pcmanfm.conf’: No such file or directory
which: no dbus-launch in (/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/root/bin)
I was told to try

Code: Select all

yum -y groupremove "LXDE" && yum -y groupinstall "Fedora Workstation" --skip-broken && systemctl set-default graphical.target && reboot
but the output is:
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
* fedora: ftp-stud.hs-esslingen.de
* rpmfusion-free: ftp.nluug.nl
* rpmfusion-free-updates: ftp.nluug.nl
* updates: ftp-stud.hs-esslingen.de
No environment named LXDE exists
No group named LXDE exists
No packages to remove from groups
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
* fedora: ftp-stud.hs-esslingen.de
* rpmfusion-free: ftp.nluug.nl
* rpmfusion-free-updates: ftp.nluug.nl
* updates: ftp-stud.hs-esslingen.de
Warning: group Fedora Workstation does not exist.
No packages in any requested group available to install or update
Unknown operation 'set-default'.
Can anyone help me get LXDE working?

Thanks.

souravmoitra
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 10:11 am

Re: Trying to install LXDE

Postby souravmoitra » Fri Jul 17, 2015 10:12 am


User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11677
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Trying to install LXDE

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Jul 17, 2015 10:52 am

Also you can install CrashPlan desktop client on Windows/MAC and configure the HDA CrashPlan server from there. Better option than installing a desktop on a server that is not really necessary.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

TeamSiomha
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:00 am

Re: Trying to install LXDE

Postby TeamSiomha » Fri Jul 17, 2015 11:32 am

Thanks. No, that doesn't seem to apply to me. I have rebooted the HDA and am still only getting a text-mode login screen, no option to change session type. I think I need to run a script to configure LXDE but I am not sure what it is.

TeamSiomha
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:00 am

Re: Trying to install LXDE

Postby TeamSiomha » Fri Jul 17, 2015 11:35 am

Also you can install CrashPlan desktop client on Windows/MAC and configure the HDA CrashPlan server from there. Better option than installing a desktop on a server that is not really necessary.
Yes, that is what I would like to do. There are instructions at https://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Crashplan for controlling the desktop client on the HDA from a Windows machine but not from a Mac.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11677
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Trying to install LXDE

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Jul 17, 2015 11:57 am

Should be very similar.

That guidance came from the CrashPlan web site. You might check there as well.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests