Booting Into Emergency Mode

tomtheappraiser
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:49 pm

Booting Into Emergency Mode

Postby tomtheappraiser » Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:43 pm

I recently had to restart my server to move it. When I connected it back up, it only boots into Emergency Mode.
I checked the journal, and some of the items in red were
fsck failed with error Code 4
Noveau Invalid Rom Contents
Noveau E VBIOS Unanble to locate usuable image
Noveau E DEVICE failed to create 0x100000001, -22
Noveau E DRM failed to create 0x800000080,-22

also

failed to start file system check
dependency failed for /var/hda/files/drives/drive 2
dependency failed for local systems
No plugins found

I'm guessing this is disk 2 going bad? But I don't know which hard drive is disk 2.

I ran fsck on the OS partition and it was fine, But I still can't get into it.

Any ideas?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Booting Into Emergency Mode

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:51 pm

My recommendation is as follows:

1. Download a Live CD like Ubuntu.
2. Boot the HDA using the Live CD and mount the HDA OS drive.
3. Edit /etc/fstab on the HDA OS drive and comment out all additional hard drives.
4. Reboot the HDA the normal way.

This will get you back to a useable system. Then you can investigate and determine which drive is causing the issues. You can uncomment each one at a time and mount them.

As long as you don't reboot, there is no issue. Mounting the drive should either work or not. If it doesn't work, that's the problem drive.

Make sense?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

tomtheappraiser
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: Booting Into Emergency Mode

Postby tomtheappraiser » Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:05 pm

OK, a couple of questions:
1) How do I boot the HDA from an Ubuntu Live CD? I have Tails & gparted.
2) How do I comment out the drives?

Thanks.

tomtheappraiser
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: Booting Into Emergency Mode

Postby tomtheappraiser » Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:15 pm

I meant to say that I can use Gedit to edit fstab, I just didn't know what comment out meant.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Booting Into Emergency Mode

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:22 pm

Ok, just download and burn a Live CD. Then when you power on the HDA, ensure it boots from CD.

Once you get things up and running, using the editor you place a # in from of the UUID line. Any line with a # is ignored by the OS.

Does that help?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

tomtheappraiser
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: Booting Into Emergency Mode

Postby tomtheappraiser » Thu Mar 19, 2015 1:47 pm

Got it. I'll try it now

tomtheappraiser
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: Booting Into Emergency Mode

Postby tomtheappraiser » Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:13 pm

OK, I can mount it, but when I try to save the edit of /etc/fstab it say I don't have permission to access it.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Booting Into Emergency Mode

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:26 pm

You have to run the editor as root user.

Recommend you use command line to do the edit that way you can run as root user. Nano is a fairly straight forward editor for the command line.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

tomtheappraiser
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: Booting Into Emergency Mode

Postby tomtheappraiser » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:36 pm

OK, I commented out the three hard drives that didn't contain the OS (which is a 240 GB SSD). Still booting into Emergency Mode

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Booting Into Emergency Mode

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:42 pm

Could be hardware failure of the OS drive.

SSD is not best suited for servers unless they are enterprise grade. Not a huge performance boost for most home users unless there is a desktop with apps. Just my opinion of course.

You may need to research on the internet about this to find a solution. I am unsure where to direct you next.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests