RESOLVED: Stuck on step 4 of Express Install

kaspr007
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:10 pm

RESOLVED: Stuck on step 4 of Express Install

Postby kaspr007 » Fri Jan 02, 2015 8:12 pm

Hello all,

I'm new to Linux and Amahi and I'm looking for a little help. I'm trying to install Amahi on an extra laptop I have (all specs meet requirements).

I followed the instructions here: http://docs.amahi.org/amahi-7-express.html
I also followed these instructions for partition: https://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Hard_D ... ion_Scheme
I can log into the laptop using the username and password I set-up during install
I run into problems when I get to "step 4: Initialize Amahi and start using it."

I try http://hda/ and "webpage is unavailable"
I tried disabling DHCP in my router/modem settings, but all that did was disable my wifi (wired connection still worked)
I tried the Amahi 7 Interactive Network Trouobleshooter, but I couldn't get Putty to connect to my HDA laptop.
The status on my Amahi Control Panel just lists my status as "Waiting to Install"

I'm not sure what other information I can provide? If anyone can be of assistance It would be much appreciated.

All the best,
Kaspr

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Stuck on step 4 of Express Install

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:34 pm

Can you access the HDA via IP address in a web browser? Also what are you using for a client? It may be that you need to renew the DHCP lease for the client.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

kaspr007
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Stuck on step 4 of Express Install

Postby kaspr007 » Sat Jan 03, 2015 10:02 pm

I cannot access the HDA via IP. The IP is 192.168.1.9. When I try that in multiple browsers I get "This webpage is not available/timed out"
The HDA is not showing up on wireless. I can only see it through my router/modem (SmartRG sr505n) settings when wired with ethernet.

I am using my Lenovo Windows 7 laptop to try and access my HDA.

In my modem/router settings I can see the DHCP status for all my connected devices. The HDA is connected, but it doesn't have a host name and the "Expires in" column lists it at "0 seconds"

I followed these instructions to renew my DCHP Lease: https://kb.wisc.edu/page.php?id=562
I am still unable to connect to my HDA.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Stuck on step 4 of Express Install

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Jan 04, 2015 8:19 am

It's possible the install was not successful. You may need to reinstall. BTW, The HDA must have a wired connection and cannot be connected wireless.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

kaspr007
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Stuck on step 4 of Express Install

Postby kaspr007 » Sun Jan 04, 2015 10:53 pm

I reinstalled and used a wired connection. I am now able to connect through putty and execute commands. I am unable to access my HDA through my windows laptop using either the hda ip or http://hda.

I did the interactive troublshooter and this is the result from step 4: http://pastebin.ubuntu.com/9675013/

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Stuck on step 4 of Express Install

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:03 pm

Did you install Amahi 6 on Ubuntu? We no longer support it. Did you Renew the Client IP address>
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

kaspr007
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Stuck on step 4 of Express Install

Postby kaspr007 » Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:57 pm

I renewed the client IP Address via the instructions. I am using "Amahi-7.1-x86_64-DVD.iso".

Latest results from the interactive network troubleshooter: http://pastebin.ubuntu.com/9678908/

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Stuck on step 4 of Express Install

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Jan 05, 2015 3:10 pm

There appears to be a DNS issue. Is DNS enabled on your router?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

kaspr007
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Stuck on step 4 of Express Install

Postby kaspr007 » Mon Jan 05, 2015 4:17 pm

Here is a screenshot of my DNS settings: http://snag.gy/Gkuw1.jpg

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Stuck on step 4 of Express Install

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Jan 05, 2015 6:04 pm

You might want to check if you can turn off DNS for the router or change it to the IP address of the HDA.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests