Total Beginner

miksnake

Total Beginner

Postby miksnake » Tue Nov 04, 2014 4:30 pm

hello.

I ask the following advice with the hope that I will not get flamed for asking such a basic and likely redundant question.

I am a total beginner to the NAS arena but moderately okay with computers in general. However, all of my knowledge revolves around Windows.

I have a PC that's about 7-8 years old but has reasonably good specs that I am hoping to use as a media server and storage device. It currently has Windows XP on it. I am currently running Plex on my laptop and it streams to my LG TV with built-in Plex support. My laptop's storage is full and is not the ideal location for this anyway. I don't want to add external drives to it so would like to move this service over to my old PC. I also would like to have a central repository for all of our files (mostly movies, music and pictures).

A while back I had looked at FreeNAS and other NAS solutions but they seemed a bit complex for me. Today I was revisiting the idea and came across Amahi which seems like it could very well fit the bill. But, before I did too much research I was hoping some of the very experienced people on here could give me some quicker answers. So, again I apologize in advance but do really appreciate any support and help you can provide.

So, basically, I have this old XP computer. I could load Plex on it, dump my files onto the hard drives and go. I want to be able to access it from my laptop so I can move files from there to this PC. I also considered upgrading to Windows 7 (if I have an installation disc at work somewhere) so that I'm on a more up-to-date operating system.

Alternatively, I am now considering installing Amahi which looks like it can do a completely fresh install including a version of Linux, wiping out the existing data on the hard drive including Windows.