SOLVED: Amahi Troubleshooting Page

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11137
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

SOLVED: Amahi Troubleshooting Page

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:26 pm

Fellow Amahians,

We have created a single wiki page to consolidate Amahi Troubleshooting and HDA Admin How To.

https://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/TroubleShooting

This page applies to Amahi 7 (Fedora 19) and Amahi 6 (Ubuntu) versions. We plan to update the page as additional guidance becomes available.

The page is protected as we prefer to not have users making changes to this page. If anyone has any suggestions for topics to add, please let us know here.

We have tried to scour the wiki and forums for the common issues and solutions along with the more common admin guidance. It is possible we may have overlooked some, so please let us know if that is the case.

We hope this helps out new as well as veteran Amahi users.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

galoisienne2
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 6:06 am

Re: Amahi Troubleshooting Page

Postby galoisienne2 » Tue Dec 30, 2014 11:00 am

Thank for this.

My own hope which may be ill informed as a beginner, is best practice options (e.g., with and without greyhole) on the topic of installing storage, updating storage, and back up processes.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11137
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Troubleshooting Page

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:02 pm

Some of this is already in the wiki. I cannot recall how it's identified, but these are the sorts of tutorials we rely on the user community to develop. If anyone would like to assist, please feel free to do so.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11137
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Troubleshooting Page

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:40 am

We have added Hard Drive Partition Scheme to assist new users.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

WL2AA
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 9:49 am

Missing apps

Postby WL2AA » Tue Mar 22, 2016 9:56 am

Good day.

I installed my domain name for the 'domain' in the fedora setup. The intention is to DNS this box as part of my domain scheme.

The problem I am having is that apps that are self-configuring do not work. owncloud8.domain.com and qtorrent.domain.com simply 404 (as I expect).

I can reach the HDA easily enough but other than uninstalling them, I cannot see them or control them at all.

It's a fresh install, completed this morning. Is there a good answer besides reinstall?


What is a 'correct' domain name for Fedora that will prevent this lookup problem?


Where would I point them in a local DNS server to prevent this problem?



Thanks.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11137
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Troubleshooting Page

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:26 am

Are you using the HDA as the DHCP/DNS server for your network?

if not, recommend you consult the Amahi FAQ.

Also for further assistance, recommend you provide the URL for the following:

Code: Select all

fpaste --sysinfo
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

WL2AA
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 9:49 am

Exceptional.

Postby WL2AA » Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:33 pm

I updated the preferred DNS on the PC I am testing with and bingo! It does DNS correctly now for the self-assigned addresses and Internet sites.

Good, quick fix.


Thanks.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11137
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Troubleshooting Page

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:38 am

Great!

Closing this one a resolved.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

qualm
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 10:33 am

Re: SOLVED: Amahi Troubleshooting Page

Postby qualm » Fri Sep 16, 2016 10:39 am

I am really confused?!?!
I can't connect to my hda server, all looks good and I have tried all the network tests and all is fine but can't connect to it. I can however connect to the IP with putty and login but if I type in my *.yourhda.com, I end up in my routers login page and that is what's really confusing me.
Any suggestions to what I might have done wrong?

Kindly
/Qualm

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11137
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: SOLVED: Amahi Troubleshooting Page

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 1:52 pm

Code: Select all

if I type in my *.yourhda.com, I end up in my routers login page and that is what's really confusing me.
Are you doing this from within your network? If so, it only works from outside your network.

BTW, this thread is CLOSED so please start a new topic.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests