Will Amahi do for me what WHS wont?

MrXwhs

Will Amahi do for me what WHS wont?

Postby MrXwhs » Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:47 am

Ive been using WHSv1 for a few years now, and more recently the 2011rc... whiilst Ive liked what they do, I find them very limiting and restrictive. If I tell you a bit more of what ny needs are, hopefully you can offer me some advice before I wipe my WHS and take the plunge!

In addition to what WHS can offer (backup, web access, media streaming, file storage etc), perhaps my main need is for myself and my wife to be able to run the admin side of our small part-time home business (we both have normal day jobs). This means being able to have access to office productivity apps, the equivalent of word, excel, more importantly outlook & a shared calender, so when we are out and about, if either of us need to we can access the server and manage the business. In a sense providing terminal services, or remote acess functioanlity on a per user basis. WHS can offer such functioanlities thorugh the dashboard (with add-ins), but this is only available via admin user, so each user cant have their own access to run apps etc.

For example, we are both out, and get a call from a customer.. we can jump on the web, edit a couple of documents and email them off, whilst also updating the shared calender etc... I know you can achieve such things with hotmail/gmail etc, but as Im a bit of a geek, and have a home server.. why not use it! In additon, if we could then get the calendar to 2 way sync with our phones (iphone/android), like we currenly have with outlook and gmail sync.. that would be fantastic!

I simply want more from my home server than whs can offer, without the cost or complexity of windows server technologies.. Im obviously prepared to adapt, and open to ditchin M$ altogether for a better all round solution...
Is this achievable with Amahi??

MrXwhs

Re: Will Amahi do for me what WHS wont?

Postby MrXwhs » Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:49 pm