Alias with an alternate port

ho0k3r
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 5:53 am

Alias with an alternate port

Postby ho0k3r » Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:16 am

Is there a way to setup an alias with an alternate port? I installed Vmware Server on my HDA and would like to get to it by using http://vmware.

ho0k3r
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 5:53 am

Re: Alias with an alternate port

Postby ho0k3r » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:09 am

As usual after I post it hits me as to how to solve my issue.

Maybe someone has a better way but this is how I did it.

First I created a webapp name vmware and left everything standard.

Then I modified the vmware file in /etc/httpd/conf.d/1012-Vmware.conf so it contains the following.

Code: Select all

<VirtualHost *:80> ServerName Vmware ServerAlias Vmware.ho0k3r.com redirect permanent / https://vmware:8333 DocumentRoot /usr/lib/vmware/webAccess/tomcat/apache-tomcat-6.0.16/webapps/ui <Directory "/usr/lib/vmware/webAccess/tomcat/apache-tomcat-6.0.16/webapps/ui"> Options Indexes FollowSymLinks +ExecCGI AddHandler fcgid-script .fcg AllowOverride AuthConfig Order allow,deny Allow from all </Directory> ErrorLog /var/hda/web-apps/Vmware/logs/error_log CustomLog /var/hda/web-apps/Vmware/logs/access_log combined env=!dontlog </VirtualHost>
Now I can type http://vmware and it functions properly.

Note:
You have to restart the httpd service for the changes to take affect.

service httpd restart

rampage537
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:41 am
Location: Hazel Park, MI
Contact:

Re: Alias with an alternate port

Postby rampage537 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:15 am

did you go to the network tab in the dashboard and try making a network alias for it?
Testmaster Manager
Amahi HDA Custom Dual 2.7 GHz, 3 GB DDR2 (667MHz) Ram, 80GB HDD for OS + 1TB and 320GB HDD for Share Drives

ho0k3r
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 5:53 am

Re: Alias with an alternate port

Postby ho0k3r » Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:56 pm

did you go to the network tab in the dashboard and try making a network alias for it?
I did but it doesn't allow for an alternate port.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests