CLOSED: Mount existing drive with data?

Clifnas
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2022 8:22 pm

CLOSED: Mount existing drive with data?

Postby Clifnas » Mon Jan 17, 2022 8:25 pm

I've successfully set up Amahi and can see shares on local windows computers.

I would like to add an existing drive with data to the Amahi server, and have that disk available as a share over the network.

the disk is recognized, but how do I mount/add it and make it shared?

Thank you in advance,
Chris

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11922
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Mount existing drive with data?

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Jan 18, 2022 3:18 pm

Follow the adding second hard drive guidance but skip the partitioning and formatting part.

You can add a share and make the path match the mounting point of the hard drive.

Hopefully that helps.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

austin90
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2022 5:16 am

Re: Mount existing drive with data?

Postby austin90 » Fri Mar 25, 2022 1:42 pm

You can add a share and make the path match the mounting point of the hard drive.
Hopefully that helps.
Sorry could you clear up what you mean by making the path match the mounting point of the drive? I'm not very well-versed at this, as you can see.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11922
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Mount existing drive with data?

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Mar 26, 2022 9:08 am

Basically you can mount a drive to a specific file location. For example.

/var/hda/files/test could be the mounting point for a hard drive that is added to the /etc/fstab.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

austin90
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2022 5:16 am

Re: Mount existing drive with data?

Postby austin90 » Wed Mar 30, 2022 6:23 am

Right okay! Appreciate the explainer. Definitely not an expert here haha

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11922
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Mount existing drive with data?

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Mar 30, 2022 6:24 pm

No problem. Marking topic as closed.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests