CLOSED: Add an HDD to Amahi without losing data?

kaneteg
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:39 am

CLOSED: Add an HDD to Amahi without losing data?

Postby kaneteg » Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:44 am

I would like to add 3 HDD's to my system without losing data, they are all NTFS formatted today.
I've started with Disk Wizard but it looks like that it will format the disks, even though I tick NTFS, and it that case I will lose all data or?
What shall I do?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10889
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Add an HDD to Amahi without losing data?

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:47 pm

What shall I do?
Recommend you follow the manual guidance, but skip the partition/format step. That should ensure you don't lose data.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

kaneteg
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:39 am

Re: Add an HDD to Amahi without losing data?

Postby kaneteg » Thu Jan 11, 2018 2:01 pm

Thanks!
I were able to mount 2 out of 3. #3 is a 3 TB disk, I don't know if that is the root cause?
But I failed on doing the "permanent" mount with /etc/fstab, "access denied". Any solutions on that?

I tried after that to map the shares in HDA with my PC but failed. "Network password" was required, what password should that be?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10889
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Add an HDD to Amahi without losing data?

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Jan 11, 2018 4:14 pm

The network login credentials are the user name and password you created when installing Fedora. It’s also the same as the one you use to login into the dashboard on your server.

As for the 3tb drive, check the wiki for guidance for the larger dives.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

kaneteg
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:39 am

Re: Add an HDD to Amahi without losing data?

Postby kaneteg » Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:24 am

- Still not possible to permantly mounting the disks with /etc/fstab UUID....., system reply is "-bash: Access denied"
Is there another way to do that?

- Mapping drives still not working with my Username and Pwd as login cred.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10889
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Add an HDD to Amahi without losing data?

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:07 am

system reply is "-bash: Access denied"
is this after editing the file and mounting the drive?
- Mapping drives still not working with my Username and Pwd as login cred.
There must be something wrong on your client. Can you access shares via \\hda?

Might want to check out the Troubleshooting guidance.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

kaneteg
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:39 am

Re: Add an HDD to Amahi without losing data?

Postby kaneteg » Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:58 am

system reply is "-bash: Access denied"
is this after editing the file and mounting the drive?
- Mapping drives still not working with my Username and Pwd as login cred.
There must be something wrong on your client. Can you access shares via \\hda?
Might want to check out the Troubleshooting guidance.
After mounting the drives.

Yes, I can see the structure but not access the folders.

kaneteg
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:39 am

Re: Add an HDD to Amahi without losing data?

Postby kaneteg » Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:32 am

Case closed!
I have installed FreeNAS instead.....;)

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10889
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Add an HDD to Amahi without losing data?

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:04 pm

Sorry to hear you decided to switch.

Marking closed.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests