Show Us your home server

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Show Us your home server

Postby cpg » Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:00 am

LOL

We should do a contest or something! :D
(ideas?)
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

smccloud
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:52 am

Re: Show Us your home server

Postby smccloud » Tue Apr 12, 2011 1:20 pm

New motherboard, case, PSU & another HD for me. Large widescreen pics so all you get are links.

http://pics.smccloud.com/server1.jpg
http://pics.smccloud.com/server2.jpg

Recette
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 10:33 pm

Re: Show Us your home server

Postby Recette » Tue May 03, 2011 10:59 pm


rbmattis
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:37 am

Re: Show Us your home server

Postby rbmattis » Tue Jun 07, 2011 2:28 pm

http://i.imgur.com/q0coI.jpg

HP ProLiant Microserver N36L

$255 on newegg.

4GB RAM, 30 GB Vertex SSD, 3x2TB Samsung F4's plus room for one or two more drives.

I'm pretty stoked.

Peleyer
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 9:12 pm

Re: Show Us your home server

Postby Peleyer » Fri Jul 15, 2011 11:56 pm

I'm running HP microserver, didn't touched the hardware, pretty much default, athlon II, 1gbram, seems to be running amahi and fedora 14 just fine.

I use Boxee Box to play the contents of the server.

roly25
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 5:37 am

Re: Show Us your home server

Postby roly25 » Sat Jul 16, 2011 7:14 am

My server is an Advent Netbook, I'll take a picture at some point as it currently means pulling it from under the desk.

Roland

rbmattis
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:37 am

Re: Show Us your home server

Postby rbmattis » Sat Sep 17, 2011 7:17 am

Upgraded my HDA. I moved the Vertex to the ODD bay, inserted a fourth Samsung f4 HD204UI 2TB into the SAS backplane. Then I reformatted and properly aligned all the F4's (they are advanced format drives that don't play nice with linux out of the box). Then I combined them into a RAID 5 array with mdadm giving 5.4 TB of usable space. That should last me a while. When I run out of space again I'll add a better e-sata card to the pcie slot and then slap a bunch of big drives into one of those port multiplying external enclosures. That'll take me to about 15 TB of usable storage, that will take a VERY long time to fill.

Image

inquam
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:22 pm

Re: Show Us your home server

Postby inquam » Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:22 pm

Latest addition to my Amahi

An eSATA hardware RAID chassi running 4x2TB in RAID5.
I have another chassi ready to go once I feel I get low on space :)

Image

Image
My HDA: Q6400, 8GB ram, 2x1TB disk in raid 1 for system drive, 6x2TB drives for storage

nefarious
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:56 am
Location: Edmond, OK

Re: Show Us your home server

Postby nefarious » Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:15 am

I'm a whs v1 user on my primary media server which is a Norco 4220 server with 18TB usable (4TB free) at the moment and still growing. It will max at 40TB. Everything is duplicated on it as well.
Image

I've setup a headless Amahi media server on a Dell Dimension e520 with an OS drive and 2 300gb drives in a greyhole pool. I've installed SABnzbd, Couchpotato, SickBeard, and Headphones on it to utilize the shares. This will sit on a wired network and be read from an apple tv2 running xbmc. This will be given to another family and I wanted an all in one solution that was robust and would do what they needed without requiring much babysitting. I really like the platform and might look into it to replace my personal media server in the future.
-=Zod=- Norco RPC-4220, AMD Athlon II 2.8GHz, 16GB RAM, & 40TB in my GH Storage Pool

User avatar
helge
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: Show Us your home server

Postby helge » Sun Oct 23, 2011 11:34 am

Deleted.
Last edited by helge on Sat Jan 14, 2012 4:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests