HDA does not wake up from "suspend to disk" after new NIC

kikkegek
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:28 am

HDA does not wake up from "suspend to disk" after new NIC

Postby kikkegek » Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:02 am

hi guys,

changed my NIC this weekend from a realtek to an Intel and saw an incredible increase in networktransferspeed. I was very happy with that.

I changed the new NIC from eth1 to eth0 to make sure the HDA handles it correctly.

but for some reason I cant get WOL to work anymore. Stuff I already checked and took care of are:
- changed MAC address at the clients for wol.exe or etherwake command
- checked wake-on support and wake-on status on HDA. both are OK

something I did notice is the motherboard from my HDA supports waking up from IRQ events, but only up to IRQ=15. And my NIC has IRQ=16. could that be the problem?

for now I have set all possible events to wake up the HDA ibn the bios to "enabled".

kikkegek
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:28 am

[SOLVED]Re: HDA doesnt wake up from "suspend to disk" (new N

Postby kikkegek » Mon Jan 28, 2013 3:25 pm

solved it myself guys!

it seemed like the top PCI slot in my machine did not supply power to the Intel NIC in hibernation.

I moved the NIC one PCI down and now the Intel NIC is ON when the HDA is hibernating.

So problem SOLVED!

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11465
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: HDA does not wake up from "suspend to disk" after new NI

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:15 pm

That is odd. Glad to hear you sorted it out though.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

apastor
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:58 am

Re: HDA does not wake up from "suspend to disk" after new NI

Postby apastor » Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:53 pm

What kind of speeds were you getting before and afterwards?
Proxmox Server: Currently Not Running Amahi
CPU: AMD FX 6100 Six Core
RAM: 8GB DDR3
HDD: 4x1TB RAID10 (Adaptec)

kikkegek
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:28 am

Re: HDA does not wake up from "suspend to disk" after new NI

Postby kikkegek » Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:05 am

What kind of speeds were you getting before and afterwards?
before: 100%CPU load during smb transfers
download 5-6mb/sec
upload 2-3mb/sec

after installing Intel Pro/1000 GT: ~80% cpu load during smb transfers
dowload ~28mb/sec
upload ~29mb/sec

:D :o :shock: :lol: 8-)

I think there is still something holding the system back...but this is big improvement.

kikkegek
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:28 am

Re: HDA does not wake up from "suspend to disk" after new NI

Postby kikkegek » Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:49 am

okay, still not solved.

HDA was asleep all night and didnt wake up on Magic Packet....shoot!

checked the NIC and there is no light, so its off...

hmmm... the motherboard only wakes up to signals up to IRQ15 and the NIC has IRQ 16...could that be the problem?

can I change the IRQ of the NIC?

kikkegek
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:28 am

Re: HDA does not wake up from "suspend to disk" after new NI

Postby kikkegek » Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:19 am

[jochen@amahi sbin]$ acpitool -e
Kernel version : 2.6.35.6-45.fc120100428 - ACPI version : 20100428
-----------------------------------------------------------
Battery status : <not available>

AC adapter : <info not available or off-line>
Fan : <not available>

CPU type : VIA Esther processor 1500MHz
CPU speed : 1496.249 MHz
Cache size : 128 KB
Bogomips : 2992.49
Processor ID : 0
Bus mastering control : no
Power management : no
Throttling control : no
Limit interface : no
Active C-state : C0
C-states (incl. C0) : 0

Thermal zone 1 : ok, 40 C
Trip points :
-------------
critical (S5): 80 C
passive (forced):<not set>


Device S-state Status Sysfs node
---------------------------------------
1. SLPB S5 *enabled
2. PCI0 S5 *disabled no-bus:pci0000:00
3. USB3 S3 *disabled pci:0000:00:10.0
4. USB4 S3 *disabled pci:0000:00:10.1
5. USB5 S3 *disabled pci:0000:00:10.2
6. USB6 S3 *disabled pci:0000:00:10.3
7. USB7 S3 *disabled pci:0000:00:10.4
8. LAN0 S5 *disabled
9. AC97 S5 *disabled pci:0000:00:11.5
10. MC97 S5 *disabled

kikkegek
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:28 am

Re: HDA does not wake up from "suspend to disk" after new NI

Postby kikkegek » Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:27 pm

loaded the BIOS OPTIMIZED DEFAULTS

checked all settings once more. rebooted.

sent the system manually into hiberation:
#sudo pm-hibernate

and the NIC seems to be powered on while asleep.

WOL signal powers the HDA back on.

hope its fixed now.

apastor
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:58 am

Re: HDA does not wake up from "suspend to disk" after new NI

Postby apastor » Tue Jan 29, 2013 3:51 pm

Your NIC card? Is it a PCI or a PCI-e card?
Proxmox Server: Currently Not Running Amahi
CPU: AMD FX 6100 Six Core
RAM: 8GB DDR3
HDD: 4x1TB RAID10 (Adaptec)

kikkegek
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:28 am

Re: HDA does not wake up from "suspend to disk" after new NI

Postby kikkegek » Tue Jan 29, 2013 3:55 pm

Your NIC card? Is it a PCI or a PCI-e card?
its PCI

[ Post made via Android ] Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests