CLOSED: Why I could see HDA via FTP but not with file explorer (Windows 10)

Rok
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:06 pm

CLOSED: Why I could see HDA via FTP but not with file explorer (Windows 10)

Postby Rok » Sat Jan 22, 2022 5:21 am

I was having major issues being able to see HDA in my network drives though I could see it fine via WinSCP or similar. This was using Windows 10. The really frustrating part of this was that I had a second Windows 10 machine on the same network that didn't have the same problems. I'm not answering a question but thought this might be useful info for people having similar issues as I couldn't find this solved in the forums (though that may be down to my lack of Amaha Forum-fu!

It all boiled down to the fact that newer versions of Windows 10 have deprecated SMB1 share protocol from being installed by default.

To install it, go to Control Panel / Programs / Turn Windows Features On Or Off and enable/install SMB1

Once I'd done that everything worked again as expected.

I know there can be a lot of different reasons that result in this same problem but hadn't seen this particular solution anywhere and it sounds like one that will affect anyone with a newer Windows release (maybe combined with an older Amahi release)

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11921
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Why I could see HDA via FTP but not with file explorer (Windows 10)

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Jan 22, 2022 9:28 am

That’s interesting.

Thanks for sharing.

I will have to add this to the Shares Troubleshooting wiki page.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

austin90
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2022 5:16 am

Re: Why I could see HDA via FTP but not with file explorer (Windows 10)

Postby austin90 » Fri Mar 25, 2022 1:33 pm

Appreciate the post on this! A friend of mine who frequents Amahi faced this in the past but never got the chance to ask about it. Hoping it helps him!

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11921
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Why I could see HDA via FTP but not with file explorer (Windows 10)

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Mar 26, 2022 9:10 am

Marking thread as closed.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest