CLOSED: Amahi Sync problem

steveblakemore
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:41 am
Location: Spain

CLOSED: Amahi Sync problem

Postby steveblakemore » Tue Mar 10, 2020 10:12 am

Hi, I'm new to Amahi Sync, and can't get it working.

The advice is: "Please note that for the time being you have to create a share called Public (case sensitive) in the default location for Amahi Sync to kick in."
So I tried that but I already have a share called Public with lots of files in. When I tried to create a new share I saw: "Public has already been taken".

I tried restarting the Amahi Sync service, but the "Browse your files" link in Control Panel still takes me to a page that says:
"This folder is currently empty.

Add folders by enabling a share in your HDA to be available online."

I don't see anywhere that I can enable a share to be available online.

Thanks,
Steve

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11841
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Sync problem

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Mar 10, 2020 4:13 pm

ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

steveblakemore
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:41 am
Location: Spain

Re: Amahi Sync problem

Postby steveblakemore » Wed Mar 11, 2020 4:05 am

Hi,

Well, I read that twice but still not sure what I should do :lol:
I can see my Public share has the path /var/hda/files/public and I guess I could rename it to /var/hda/files/Public but the comment in the Bug report says that won't help.
How about this - remove Amahi Sync, move files from Public to somewhere else, delete Public share, reinstall Amahi Sync, check that the path is /var/hda/files/Public, move files back.
Would that work?

Kind regards

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11841
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Sync problem

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:37 am

Sorry, I may have referenced the wrong bug report.

What you basically need to do is change /var/hda/files/public to /var/hda/files/Public.

Then change it in the dashboard for the Public share to match.

Restart the samba and Amahi Sync services. Restarting the HDA might be easier.

That should fix the problem. Check /var/log/amahi-sync.log for errors.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

steveblakemore
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:41 am
Location: Spain

Re: Amahi Sync problem

Postby steveblakemore » Wed Mar 11, 2020 8:18 am

Hi,

Thanks for your help.

Can I just use a terminal to rename the folder while there are files in it?
Do I need to do anything else besides rename it, change it in the dashboard, and restart the HDA?

Kind regards

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11841
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Sync problem

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Mar 11, 2020 2:39 pm

Yes terminal is the best way. No need to move files.

The steps I outlined previously should fix it.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

steveblakemore
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:41 am
Location: Spain

Re: Amahi Sync problem

Postby steveblakemore » Tue Mar 17, 2020 9:58 am

Hi,

I just did that now. I'll let you know how it goes. :)

Thanks for your help,

Steve

steveblakemore
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:41 am
Location: Spain

Re: Amahi Sync problem

Postby steveblakemore » Wed Mar 18, 2020 6:01 am

Hi,
I renamed the folder from public to Public. I updated the Shares page on the HDA, and rebooted the HDA. Greyhole hasn't been affected, it deals with files in the newly named folder just as before. But there's nothing in the cloud. There is a file called amahi-sync.log where you said it would be, but it's empty.
:(
Steve

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11841
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Sync problem

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Mar 18, 2020 3:22 pm

Try the following in terminal:

Code: Select all

systemctl restart amahi-sync
Check the log for content.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

steveblakemore
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:41 am
Location: Spain

Re: Amahi Sync problem

Postby steveblakemore » Thu Mar 19, 2020 3:47 am

Hi,

Sorry, I made a mistake when I said the log file was empty. I wasn't looking at it properly.
This is being logged every 30 minutes:

200219-112931-901425: waking up and doing a full sync
rsync: connection unexpectedly closed (0 bytes received so far) [sender]
rsync error: error in rsync protocol data stream (code 12) at io.c(226) [sender=3.1.2]
200219-112933-448276: sync ended with exit status: 12
200219-112936-451256: sync errors found - sleeping to check later

So I used the systemctl command as you advised, and this was added to the log:

Exiting Amahi Sync v0.30 normally with code(15)
Exiting Amahi Sync v0.30 with error code(0)
rsync: connection unexpectedly closed (0 bytes received so far) [sender]
rsync error: error in rsync protocol data stream (code 12) at io.c(226) [sender=3.1.2]
Starting Amahi Sync v0.30
200219-114135-214515: sync ended with exit status: 12
200219-114137-215994: sync errors found - sleeping to check later
~

Thanks for your help,
Steve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest