[SOLVED] Hosting a Webapp

Spency
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 12:58 pm

Re: Hosting a Webapp

Postby Spency » Sun Jun 09, 2013 8:39 am

I've tried it on a separate connection I have as well.

Essentially, I can get to the dashboard and navigate through it no problem. I cannot open any app on an external line, because doing so redirects to the local addresses.

I think this may reflect that the ports are indeed setup correctly, and that there is something going on in the apache2 config files.

Should I try forwarding another port to the HDA?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Hosting a Webapp

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Jun 09, 2013 2:20 pm

If you are getting to the dashboard and not the app you set for port 80, something in the .conf file is not correct. The app set to be access from outside on port 80 should be what comes up when you access http://username.yourhda.com.

The one on 443 is different, but it has to be a web app that you typically access via https. You cannot make a http app work as https without additional configuration of the .conf files.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Spency
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 12:58 pm

Re: Hosting a Webapp

Postby Spency » Sun Jun 09, 2013 4:04 pm

That's what I think too. I did a fresh install of amahi to see if it would do any good - same issue as before, but at least I have a clean install under my feat now.

Right now I have mediawiki configured to accept myname.yourhda.com. When I try myname.yourhda.com from an external network, I see the URL change from

Code: Select all

http://myname.yourhda.com ---> http://mediawiki/index.php/Main_Page
But the browser says server not found.

If however, I removed the configuration from mediawiki and I try myname.yourhda.com on an external network, it brings me to the amahi dashboard without a hitch.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Hosting a Webapp

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Jun 09, 2013 5:13 pm

Here's what I recommend. On your router, forward port 80 to port 8118 (as an example). Then when you access username.yourhda.com:8118, you should see MediaWiki.

I have tested this today with Linfo and it worked perfectly for me. It seems that port 80 may conflict with the router access or the dashboard. But if you map port 80 on the HDA to a different port, it should work fine.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Spency
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 12:58 pm

Re: Hosting a Webapp

Postby Spency » Mon Jun 10, 2013 4:55 am

Still no dice. It works for the dashboard but not for the app. Even if I change the port in the conf file for the app, I still get the same result:

Code: Select all

URL: spency.yourhda.com:1881 ---> http://mediawiki/index.php/Main_Page
Then "page unavailable."

I didn't notice earlier, but transmission functions just fine. I can navigate to it from the dashboard and it correctly goes to

Code: Select all

Transmission.mydomain.net
I can also type the url in and it brings me to the right url and I can use it perfectly.

Now when I click the apps-proxy icon on the dashboard, it tries to bring me to mediawiki, even if it's not installed. Tried uninstalling and re installing several times with no success.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Hosting a Webapp

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Jun 10, 2013 6:06 am

Really strange. Have you tried different browsers? What about clearing the browser cache before trying to access the URL.

It could be something that we overlooked in the app, but pretty sure it used to work for me.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Hosting a Webapp

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Jun 10, 2013 6:11 am

Edit the LocalSettings.php file in the MediaWiki html directory and look for this line:

Code: Select all

## The protocol and server name to use in fully-qualified URLs $wgServer = "http://mediawiki";
Try adding your domain to the line and then see if that helps.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Spency
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 12:58 pm

Re: Hosting a Webapp

Postby Spency » Tue Jun 11, 2013 12:30 am

That did it! You're awesome bigfoot, thank you so much!

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Hosting a Webapp

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Jun 11, 2013 5:04 am

Great, glad it worked. I may update the app to automatically add the domain name to the LocalSettings.php file. Might not be a bad idea to add something to the wiki about that on the "Hosting a web site" page.

Do you have time to do it?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Spency
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 12:58 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Hosting a Webapp

Postby Spency » Tue Jun 11, 2013 6:20 am

Sure, I'm happy to help. I'll try to get around to it in the next day or so. :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests